Open Educational Resources in Colorado


What are OER?

Open Educational Resources (OER) are freely available online teaching and learning materials accessible to students, instructors and self-learners. Contained in digital media collections from around the world, including full courses, lectures, quizzes, classroom activities, pedagogical materials and many other assets.


OER Council

In the 2017 session, the Colorado legislature passed and the Governor signed Senate Bill 17-258, which creates the Open Educational Resources Council. This statewide body is charged to develop a plan for resources to benefit college and K-12 students throughout Colorado.

Recently approved HB 18-1331 directs the commission to continue the work and explore recommendations set forth by the OER Council. Part of the requirements of the new legislation call for the continuation of the Council in an advisory role with the Department.

The inaugural OER Council members were nominated by campus leadership. The new composition of the council requires twelve members, including five faculty, three library professionals, one currently enrolled student, one instrucional design expert, one information technology expert and one administrator.

2018 OER Council Membership

2018 OER Council meetings occur the second Thursday of every month from 1 to 4 p.m

Name Institution Email
Meg Brown-Sica Colorado State University meg.brown-sica@coloradostate.edu
Courtney Bruch CSU Global courtney.bruch@csuglobal.edu
Dustin Fife Western State Colorado University dfife@western.edu
Helen Reed University of Northern Colorado Helen.Reed@unco.edu
Deborah Keyen-Franssen University of Colorado System deblkf@cu.edu
Emily Ragan MSU Denver eragan@msudenver.edu
Brittany Dudek (Vice Chair) Colorado Community College System Brittany.Dudek@cccs.edu
Tina Parscal CCCOnline Tina.parscal@cccs.edu
Alana Mitchell Student Representative Alana.Mitchell@ppcc.edu
Jonathan Poritz (Chair) CSU-Pueblo jonathan.poritz@csupueblo.edu
Ye Li Colorado School of Mines yeli@mines.edu
Mark Manzanares Adams State University markmanzanares@adams.edu
Regan Harper Colorado Department of Education Harper_R@cde.state.co.us
Renee Martinez Colorado Department of Education Martinez_R@cde.state.co.us
Spencer Ellis Colorado Department of Higher Education spencer.ellis@dhe.state.co.us


Events and Webinars

COLTT
Colorado Learning and Teaching with Technology
Aug. 1-2, 2018


OER: From Vision to Action
Aug. 1-2, 2018
Colorado Alliance of Research Libraries


2017 OER Council Meeting Schedule

June 29, 2017
Notes
Aug. 3, 2017
Sept. 22, 2017
Oct. 13
Oct. 25
Notes
Nov. 3
Notes


Research and Resources

The OER Council’s report, submitted to the Joint Budget Committee and Education Committee, found increased adoption of freely available online teaching and learning materials could significantly benefit students through cost savings, improved learning and higher student retention. Read the report.

News Articles



Grant Program

The OER Council is now accepting applications for the first-ever Colorado Open Education Resources grant program.