Open Educational Resources Council

About the OER Council

In the 2017 session, the Colorado legislature passed and the Governor signed Senate Bill 17-258, which created the Open Educational Resources Council. This statewide body is charged to develop a plan for resources to benefit college and K-12 students throughout Colorado.

The Open Educational Resources (OER) Council’s report, submitted to the Joint Budget Committee and Education Committee in November 2017, found increased adoption of freely available online teaching and learning materials could significantly benefit students through cost savings, improved learning and higher student retention. Read the report.

2018 OER Council

2018 OER Council Membership

Name Institution Email
Dan Baer Colorado Department of Higher Education dan.baer@dhe.state.co.us
Katy Anthes Colorado Department of Education Anthes_K@cde.state.co.us
Eugene Hainer Colorado Department of Education Hainer_g@cde.state.co.us
Claire van der Plas Adams State University cvanderplas@adams.edu
Meg Brown-Sica Colorado State University meg.brown-sica@coloradostate.edu
Courtney Bruch CSU Global courtney.bruch@csuglobal.edu
Jonathan Poritz CSU-Pueblo jonathan.poritz@csupueblo.edu
Alana Mitchell CSU-Pueblo and University of Colorado Colorado Springs Alana.Mitchell@ppcc.edu
Karen Danielson Community College of Denver Karen.danielson@ccd.edu
Tina Parscal CCCOnline Tina.parscal@cccs.edu
Brittany Dudek Colorado Community College System Brittany.Dudek@cccs.edu
Gloria Eastman Metropolitan State University of Denver geastman@msudenver.edu
Deborah Keyen-Franssen University of Colorado System deblkf@cu.edu
Helen Reed University of Northern Colorado Helen.Reed@unco.edu
Dustin Fife Western State Colorado University dfife@western.edu

 

2017 OER Council

2017 Meeting Dates

Meeting times are determined by the OER Council and meetings are held from 1-3 p.m. at the CDHE office, 1560 Broadway. Remote access for telecommuters is available.

June 29, 2017
Notes
Aug. 3, 2017
Sept. 22, 2017
Oct. 13
Oct. 25
Notes
Nov. 3
Notes

 

OER Council Membership

Last Name First Name Institution Email
Reed Kim Hunter CDHE Kim.HunterReed@dhe.state.co.us
Martinez Renee CDE Martinez_R@cde.state.co.us
Hainer Eugene CDE/State Library hainer_g@cde.state.co.us
Keyen-Franssen Deborah CU System deblkf@cu.edu
Brown-Sica Meg CSU meg.brown-sica@coloradostate.edu
Reed Helen UNC Helen.Reed@unco.edu
Dudek Brittany CCCS Brittany.Dudek@cccs.edu
Parscal Tina CCCOnline Tina.parscal@cccs.edu
Poritz Jonathan CSU-Pueblo jonathan.poritz@csupueblo.edu
Leontyev Alex ASU alexleontyev@adams.edu
Ragan Emily MSU eragan@msudenver.edu
Danielson Karen CCD Karen.danielson@ccd.edu
Bruch Courtney CSU Global courtney.bruch@csuglobal.edu