
Student Record Request Instructions  

 

 How to obtain a student transcript from a closed school 

  

The Division of Private Occupational Schools (DPOS) is responsible for the preservation, storage and management 

of student records from private occupational schools approved by the Colorado Board of Occupational Schools, 

Department of Higher Education that have ceased operation. DPOS provides for the release of student transcripts 

to students that attended closed schools. Not all closed private occupational schools records are maintained by 

DPOS. DPOS stores some of its closed school records with the Colorado State Archives, the state’s custodian of 

public records. 

  

To obtain student transcripts from a closed school:  

 

1. Attached is a list of closed schools and information about the location of student transcripts. Student transcripts 

for closed private occupational schools are available through DPOS or the Colorado State Archives. Please refer to 

the list of closed schools for the location of your student transcript. If the school you attended appears on the list of 

closed schools, complete the Student Transcript Request Form and contact the appropriate agency.  

 

2. If the student transcript is available through DPOS, a $35 fee for one (1) transcript is required to obtain a copy 

of the student transcript. If an official certified copy of the transcript is to be provided to a school, business, or 

person to receive the transcript, please provide the contact information on the student transcript request form. 

Complete the form and submit with the applicable fees (check or money order or online via credit card) payable 

to” DPOS” and return to:  

 

The Division of Private Occupational Schools  

1560 Broadway, Suite 1600  

Denver, CO 80202  

Tel. (303) 862-3001/Fax: (303) 996-1330  

Email: loretta.perez@dhe.state.co.us  

 

3. If the student transcript is stored at the Colorado State Archives 

https://www.colorado.gov/pacific/archives/contact-us-1 you will need to contact them directly to submit the 

completed student transcript request form, along with all applicable fees. The following fees are required by the 

Colorado State Archives to obtain a copy of the student transcript:  

 

 Initial $20.00 research and processing fee  

 Certifications: $10.00 per transcript  

 

Complete the student transcript request form and submit with all applicable fees, payable to “Colorado State 

Archives” (check, money order or credit card, VISA/Master Charge) and send to: 

  

The Division of Archives and Public Records  

Research Section  

1313 Sherman Street, Room 120  

Denver, CO 80203  

Tel. (303) 866-2358/Fax: (303) 866-2229 

Email: archives@state.co.us.  

 

4. If the request is being made by a party other than the student, submit a copy of the student release form 

authorizing the party to obtain the requested information.  

 

5. The Division of Private Occupational Schools or the Colorado State Archives cannot guarantee that a student 

transcript can be found for every student. If student records for your school are no longer available we may be able 

to assist you by providing a letter verifying that the school was an approved school recognized by the Colorado 

Department of Higher Education. Please contact DPOS only to discuss the matter and obtain a school approval 

letter.  

https://www.colorado.gov/pacific/archives/contact-us-1

