Attention Colorado Educators: The Colorado Educator Loan Forgiveness Program is now CLOSED to receive new applicant information submissions for the 2019-20 program year. Please check back again in Fall 2020 when the application process will reopen for the 2020-21 school year.
All applicants for the 2019-20 year that have already entered their information here, and have received an application packet, have until Friday, February 21, 2020, at 5 p.m. to submit all required application materials. Any incomplete applications or materials received after this deadline will not be considered for this year.
In 2019, the Colorado Legislature passed Senate Bill 19-003 to address Colorado’s educator shortages. The law authorizes the Colorado Department of Higher Education to make payments, on behalf of participants, on qualified educational loans with priority to educators serving in rural and hard-to-fill positions in Colorado. Read the guidelines here.
Please read this memo for an update to the approved educator preparation programs for the Educator Loan Forgiveness Program.
Program participants will be eligible for an annual payment of up to $5,000 towards their qualified loan balance. Program participants may be eligible for an annual payment for up to five years. The Colorado Department of Higher Education is authorized to accept up to 100 new program participants each year through 2028, subject to available appropriations. By law, CDHE will fund program participants according to the following priorities:
To qualify, you must be employed as a licensed teacher, principal, or Special Service Provider (SSP).
Important Note: Please read this memo for an update to the approved educator preparation programs for the Educator Loan Forgiveness Program.
For principals, a qualified loan must have been incurred while enrolled in an approved educator preparation program in Colorado. For teachers, a qualified loan must have been incurred while enrolled in an approved educator preparation program in Colorado, or while completing a bachelor’s or master’s degree in the content area. For SSPs, a qualified loan must have been incurred while enrolled in an accredited program of study in the endorsement area for which licensure is held.
Step 1: If you believe you qualify, help determine your eligibility by completing an online form. A full application packet will be emailed to you if you qualify. Qualification does not guarantee an award.
Step 2: Complete the application and submit, with the required documentation, to the Colorado Department of Higher Education by February 21, 2020. All documents should be scanned and sent via email to EdLoanForgiveness@dhe.state.co.us
Step 3: If you are one of the 100 program participants for the 2019-20 fiscal year, you will be contacted by the Colorado Department of Higher Education to provide additional loan details and documentation. All qualified applicants will be notified of their program status on or before April 30, 2020.
The deadline to receive applications for the program for the current fiscal year is February 21, 2020, at 5 p.m.