Open Educational Resources Council

About the OER Council

In the 2017 session, the Colorado legislature passed and the Governor signed Senate Bill 17-258, which created the Open Educational Resources Council. This statewide body is charged to develop a plan for resources to benefit college and K-12 students throughout Colorado.

The Open Educational Resources (OER) Council’s report, submitted to the Joint Budget Committee and Education Committee in November 2017, found increased adoption of freely available online teaching and learning materials could significantly benefit students through cost savings, improved learning and higher student retention. Read the report.

2018 OER Council

2018 OER Council Membership

Name Institution Email
Dan Baer Colorado Department of Higher Education
Katy Anthes Colorado Department of Education
Eugene Hainer Colorado Department of Education
Claire van der Plas Adams State University
Meg Brown-Sica Colorado State University
Courtney Bruch CSU Global
Jonathan Poritz CSU-Pueblo
Alana Mitchell CSU-Pueblo and University of Colorado Colorado Springs
Karen Danielson Community College of Denver
Tina Parscal CCCOnline
Brittany Dudek Colorado Community College System
Gloria Eastman Metropolitan State University of Denver
Deborah Keyen-Franssen University of Colorado System
Helen Reed University of Northern Colorado
Dustin Fife Western State Colorado University


2017 OER Council

2017 Meeting Dates

Meeting times are determined by the OER Council and meetings are held from 1-3 p.m. at the CDHE office, 1560 Broadway. Remote access for telecommuters is available.

June 29, 2017
Aug. 3, 2017
Sept. 22, 2017
Oct. 13
Oct. 25
Nov. 3


OER Council Membership

Last Name First Name Institution Email
Reed Kim Hunter CDHE
Martinez Renee CDE
Hainer Eugene CDE/State Library
Keyen-Franssen Deborah CU System
Brown-Sica Meg CSU
Reed Helen UNC
Dudek Brittany CCCS
Parscal Tina CCCOnline
Poritz Jonathan CSU-Pueblo
Leontyev Alex ASU
Ragan Emily MSU
Danielson Karen CCD
Bruch Courtney CSU Global