
highered.colorado.gov/dpos 
 
DPOS Home 
 

• Student Information 
o Student Transcripts 

 How to obtain a student transcript from a closed school 
 
The Division of Private Occupational Schools (DPOS) is responsible for 
the preservation, storage and management of student records from private 
occupational schools approved by the Colorado Board of Occupational 
Schools, Department of Higher Education that have ceased operation.  
DPOS provides for the release of student transcripts to students that 
attended closed schools. Not all closed private occupational schools 
records are maintained by DPOS.  DPOS stores some of its closed school 
records with the Colorado State Archives, the state’s custodian of public 
records.   
 
To obtain student transcripts from a closed school: 
 
1. Attached is a list of closed schools and information about the location 

of student transcripts.  Student transcripts for closed private 
occupational schools are available through DPOS or the Colorado 
State Archives.  Please refer to the list of closed schools for the 
location of your student transcript.  If the school you attended appears 
on the list of closed schools, complete the Student Transcript Request 
Form and contact the appropriate agency.  

 
2. If the student transcript is available through DPOS, a $10 fee for one 

(1) transcript is required to obtain a copy of the student transcript.  If 
an official certified copy of the transcript is to be provided to a school, 
business, or person to receive the transcript, please provide the contact 
information on the student transcript request form.  Complete the form 
and submit with the applicable fees (check or money order/no credit 
cards) payable to” DPOS” and return to: 

 
The Division of Private Occupational Schools 

1380 Lawrence Street, Suite 1200 
Denver, CO 80204 

Tel. (303) 866-4187/Fax: (303) 866-4237 
Email: arla.hamel@state.co.us 

 
3. If the student transcript is stored at the Colorado State Archives 

http://www.colorado.gov/dpa/doit/archives/aboutus.htm#contact  
you will need to contact them directly to submit the completed student 
transcript request form, along with all applicable fees.  The following 

http://www.colorado.gov/dpa/doit/archives/aboutus.htm#contact


fees are required by the Colorado State Archives to obtain a copy of 
the student transcript:  
 

• In-State residents: $15.00 research and processing fees; $25.00 
for a certified transcript 

• Out-of State residents: $25.00 research and processing fees; 
$35.00 for a certified transcript 

• Certifications: $10.00 per transcript 
 
Complete the student transcript request form and submit with all 
applicable fees, payable to “Colorado State Archives” (check, money 
order or credit card, VISA/MasterCharge) and send to: 
 

The Division of Archives and Public Records 
Research Section 

1313 Sherman Street, Room 1B-20 
Denver, CO 80203 

Tel. (303) 866-2390/Fax: (303) 866-2257 
Email: archives@state.co.us. 

 
4. If the request is being made by a party other than the student, submit a 

copy of the student release form authorizing the party to obtain the 
requested information. 

 
5. The Division of Private Occupational Schools or the Colorado State 

Archives cannot guarantee that a student transcript can be found for 
every student.  If student records for your school are no longer 
available we may be able to assist you by providing a letter verifying 
that the school was an approved school recognized by the Colorado 
Department of Higher Education.  Please contact DPOS only to 
discuss the matter and obtain a school approval letter.  
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