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To:   Private Occupational School Directors 

From:  Jim Parker, Director, Division of Private Occupational Schools 

Subject: Criminal Background Checks on Instructors Teachings Minors (under the age of 
16) as required by House Bill 1046 

 
House Bill 1046 signed into law by the Governor on May 17, 2006, grants authority to the Board of 
Private Occupational Schools (“Board”) to require instructional staff or prospective instructional 
staff employed and hired at private occupational schools regulated by the Board that instruct minor 
students under the age of 16 years of age to submit a criminal history background check. 
 
Effective immediately, all current instructional staff and prospective instructional staff teaching 
students under 16 years of age, in order to continue or commence employment at a private 
occupational school is required to submit or resubmit a set of his or her fingerprints to the Colorado 
Bureau of Investigation and Federal Bureau of Investigation for the purpose of conducting a state 
and national fingerprint background check in accordance to Section 12-59-105.7, C.R.S.  
Instructional staff is required to resubmit fingerprints even if he or she previously submitted 
fingerprints at the request of the Division of Private Occupational Schools (“Division”). 
 
Please find below the instructions for properly completing and submitting fingerprints, along with 
the required fee to the Colorado Bureau of Investigation.  To obtain fingerprint cards or if you have 
any questions regarding this matter, please do not hesitate to contact Voni Oerman, Program 
Supervisor at 303/894-2960. 
 
Thank you for your cooperation and prompt attention to this matter. 
 
PROCESS: 
 
Instructor Application 1. Complete all sections and sign. 
   

2. Application must also be signed by the School 
Director or authorized School representative. 

   

3. Please explain any “Yes” answers on the 
Application.  

 

If you have ever been convicted of a felony, pled 
guilty or nolo contendere to a felony, or accepted a 
deferred judgment or deferred prosecution to a 
felony charge, you MUST provide a copy of the 
court order showing the terms of the sentence and 
documents showing the completion of those terms, 
to be included with the Instructor Application.  
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 4. Original application remains on file with the school 
and a copy mailed to the Division to the attention 
of the Director. 

 
Fingerprint Cards Applicant obtains a fingerprint card from the School 

Director or by contacting the Division (Voni Oerman, 
Program Supervisor).  Complete all applicable sections 
and obtain fingerprints at local law enforcement 
agency. There may be a fee required for the 
fingerprints. 

 
Fee Include payment of $39.50 payable to C.B.I in the 

form of a business check, money order, certified check 
or cashier’s. Personal checks and cash are not 
accepted. 

  
Mail to: Send fingerprint card and fee to   

Colorado Bureau of Investigation  
 690 Kipling Street, Suite 3000 
 Denver, CO  80215 
 
Background Check Submittal of the application for criminal background 

check to C.B.I. also includes a national background 
check through the F.B.I.   

 

1. C.B.I. will mail the results to the Division.   
 

2. The Division will notify the school of the results of 
the background check.  

 

3. The Division Director will give no notice to any 
such instructor applicant when a criminal 
background indicates the person has been 
convicted of, pled nolo contendere to, or received a 
deferred prosecution or deferred sentence for a 
felony or misdemeanor described in section 22-
60.5-107(2), C.R.S.  

 

4. The Division will inform the school that employs 
or is considering employing an instructor subject to 
a background check that is under review by the 
Director, but the school shall not be noticed as to 
the details of the background check. 
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