
SAF-1  Rev09.04.14 

 
Colorado Dept. of Higher Education, Division of Private Occupational Schools  Application to Operate   Page 1 of 3 
 

Division of Private Occupational Schools 
Colorado Department of Higher Education 
1560 Broadway, Suite 1600 
Denver, CO  80202 
 
 

APPLICATION TO OPERATE -  
COLORADO PRIVATE OCCUPATIONAL SCHOOL  
 
School Name: ______________________________________________ Date: _________________ 
 

Address: ___________________________________________________________________________ 
  Street    City   State   Zip Code 

Phone: _________________________________ Fax: ____________________________________ 
 

Web-site: _______________________________ E-mail: __________________________________ 
 

IMPORTANT:  READ ALL BEFORE COMPLETING THIS FORM. 
 

The Division of Private Occupational Schools is not required to act upon any application until all 
materials constituting an application have been filed.  Further, under the provisions of the Private 
Occupational Education Act of 1981, a renewal application not filed by February 15 immediately 

prior to the expiration of the current Certificate of Approval WILL BE TREATED AS A NEW 

APPLICATION SUBMITTED AND ONLY A PROVISIONAL CERTIFICATE WILL BE ISSUED. 
 

Application is hereby made for a Certificate of Approval to operate a Private Occupational School 
in conformity with the provisions of the Private Occupational Education Act of 1981, and the Rules 
and Regulations promulgated pursuant to the Act.  It is understood that the Division of Private 
Occupational Schools, upon review and evaluation of this application, may require further 
information to be submitted and shall conduct such investigation and appraisal as it deems 
necessary and appropriate prior to the issuance of a Certificate of Approval.   

 
To expedite the review process for the Division, label all items submitted with the corresponding 
item number listed below as the exhibit (e.g., Exhibit I.B. - Bond Proposal). 

 

I. The following materials shall be submitted and become a part of this application.  If not 
readily identifiable, please affix school name to all items. 

 

A. The nonrefundable, required fee:  (also see official Fee Schedule) 
Renewal Application -  

1. $1,500 = Standard (Renewal) 3-year, Certificate of Approval for all non-accredited  
      schools/campuses and for all accredited* schools/campuses 

* “Accreditation” is a status granted to a school by one or more of the national and/or regional 
accreditation organizations approved by the U.S. Secretary of Education as having met a set of standards 

established by the organization.  
B. A bond calculation and documentation supporting calculation of the highest amount of 

actual prepaid, unearned tuition and fees held at any given time during the previous 
12-months as required by C.R.S. 12-59-115(3). 

 

 

C. Verification of the surety bond or bonding alternative as required by C.R.S. 12-59-115, 
properly executed in the amount set forth in item I.B. above. 

 

D. A current balance sheet, income and expense statement, and other supportive financial 
documentation. 

 

E. Current and appropriate safety inspection report(s). 
 

F. A copy of any franchise agreement, if applicable. 
 

G. A list of other locations where training is offered, if applicable. 
 

State Use Only 

Ck#_________________ 
Date_______________ 
Amount $____________ 

Bond #______________ 
 

Action 

Approved_____ 
Denied _______ 
Date_______________  



SAF-1  Rev09.04.14 

 
Colorado Dept. of Higher Education, Division of Private Occupational Schools  Application to Operate   Page 2 of 3 
 

H. The name and Colorado address of a designated agent upon whom any process, 
notice or demand may be served (list on page 3 in space provided under III B). 

 

I. Copies of media advertising and promotional literature, either contemplated or 
currently in use. 

 

J. A description of the school’s placement assistance, if applicable. 
 

K. A catalog published or proposed to be published by the school containing the 
information required in the Rules and Regulations promulgated pursuant to the Act. 

 

L. Copies of all student enrollment agreements or contract forms and instruments 
evidencing indebtedness as required by the Rules and Regulations promulgated 
pursuant to the Act. 

 

M. Facilities lease with signatures 
 

N. Information regarding the type of business: 
1. If a sole proprietorship, include the name, home address, phone number, and title of 

position. 

2. If a partnership, include a list of the name, home address, phone number, and title of 
position of each partner/owner.  Indicate which, if any, maintains controlling interest 

in the school. 
3. If a corporation, include a list of the name, home address, phone number, and 

corporate title of each corporate officer.  In addition, attach a list showing the same 
information on any stockholder(s) having a controlling interest in the school. 

a. Include a copy of Articles of Incorporation and Certificate of Good Standing.  

b. New schools with out-of-state corporations, include Certificate of Authority to 
transact business in the state of Colorado. 

 

II. Mark the appropriate answer below:   
 

  A. Have you ever owned a private occupational school before?   Yes__ No__ 
  If “Yes”, answer one of the following: 
 

  1. Is it the school for which applying herein?  Yes__  
 

  OR 

  2. List name and state where located_______________________________________ 
 

  _________________________________________________________________ 
 

  B. Will the school be teaching students under 16 years of age?   Yes__ No__ 
 

  If “Yes”, all instructors teaching these students are subject to a criminal background check.   
 [Contact the Division for specific instructions.] 

 

If any question below requires a “Yes” answer, attach to this application a written explanation 
of your answer as well as official documentation. Court documentation which details 
the date of and circumstances surrounding the case (including, if applicable, charges and 

disposition of the case which demonstrates completion of any probation or court ordered terms) is 
required for bankruptcy or criminal history “yes” answers. (Please note: failure to accurately 

report criminal history may be grounds for immediate board action including but not limited to revocation of 
agent permits or certificate to operate as a private occupational school.) 
 

 

C. Has any principal owner(s), officer(s), or any person in a management capacity: 
 

1. Ever been involved in any bankruptcy?     Yes__ No__ 

2. Ever been convicted of or pled to a felony or are charges pending? Yes__ No__ 
 

3. Ever been convicted of or pled to a misdemeanor other than a minor traffic  
violation or are misdemeanor charges pending?    Yes__ No__ 

 

4. Ever been dismissed or allowed to resign from any position for 

immoral or unprofessional conduct?     Yes__ No__ 
5. Ever had a license or permit denied; revoked; or relinquished in this  

  or any other state?         Yes__ No__ 
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D. An application for a Certificate of Approval may be denied if the applicant has 
furnished false or misleading written or oral statements, documents, or other 
representations to the Division of Private Occupational Schools with the intent to 
mislead or conceal the truth of any matter to be considered by the Division of Private 
Occupational Schools as a factor in approval of the application.  It is your obligation to 
make reasonable inquiry before completing this application to ensure its accuracy and 
completeness. 

 

III. Provide the answers to the following: 
 
 

A. List below the names and address of all financial institutions with which the schools 
conducts its business.  (Attach additional list, if necessary.) 

 

             Name______________________________ Name______________________________ 
 

              Address____________________________ Address_____________________________ 
 

             Type of Account_____________________ Type of Account______________________ 
 

  B. Designated Agent (Item I.H. on p.1):  
  (Separate from “In-state”   
  Agent--may or may not be  __________________________________________________________________________ 
  same person.) Name 

  ______________________________________________________ 
  Colorado Street Address City    State    Zip Code 
 

  ______________________________________________________ 
   E-Mail Address Phone  
 

        C. School Director:       _____________________________________________________ 
   Name      E-Mail Address 
 

 D.  Tuition Range: $___________________   No. of Students Currently Enrolled ________ 
   
 E.  Lending Institutions Used (Sallie Mae...etc.) ______________________________________  
 

 F.   If Applicable, (Accredited Schools* ONLY)  

 
1. Name of Accrediting Organization ______________________________________________ 

2. Title IV Approval Date _____________________ 

3. Types of Financial Aid Offered _________________________________________________ 

4. Default Rate ____________________    5. Placement Rate___________________ 

  *PLEASE PROVIDE A COPY OF THE SCHOOLS MOST RECENT ACCREDITATION LETTER AND/OR CERTIFICATE 
______________________________________________________________________________  

AFFIDAVIT 
 

 State of____________________    County of____________________, where witnessed. 

_______________________________________, being duly sworn, deposes and says that each 
 Printed Name 

of the statements in this application and all items included as a part of this application are true  
 

and correct to the best of my knowledge. 
 

  Signature___________________________________ 
   School Officer or Principal Owner 
 

Subscribed and sworn to before me this _______ day of ___________________, 2_______. 
 

My commission expires _________________. 

  ___________________________________ 
  Notary Public 


