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TOPIC: DEGREE AUTHORIZATION ACT: RELAY GRADUATE
SCHOOL OF EDUCATION - REQUEST FOR PROVISIONAL
AUTHORIZATION

PREPARED BY: HEATHER DELANGE, ACADEMIC POLICY OFFICER

. SUMMARY

Relay Graduate School of Education (Relay GSE) has applied for provisional authorization to
operate as an authorized private, degree-granting institution in Colorado pursuant to the Degree
Authorization Act. This discussion item provides the Colorado Commission on Higher
Education with the background information preceding the recommendation for provisional
authorization.

II. BACKGROUND

The Colorado Commission on Higher Education (CCHE) has statutory responsibility for
administration of Title 23, Article 2 of the Colorado Revised Statutes, commonly referred to as
the Degree Authorization Act, which outlines the terms by which certain types of institutions®
may offer degrees or degree credits. Persons or organizations that violate the provisions of the
statute are subject to legal penalties.

All private colleges and universities, out-of-state public colleges and universities, and seminaries
and bible colleges are required to register with the Colorado Department of Higher Education
and meet criteria in CCHE Policy Section | Part J, Degree Authorization Act, in order to have
authorization to offer degrees within Colorado. Authorization by CCHE must be received by the
institution prior to: offering any program of instruction, academic credits, or degrees; opening a
place of business; soliciting students or enrollees; or, offering educational support services.

Relay GSE is a non-profit institution of higher education offering graduate degrees in education
that holds regional accreditation through the Middle States Commission on Higher Education, as
well as specialized accreditation at its other sites from the National Council for Accreditation of
Teacher Education through 2020. “Chartered in 2011 by New York State, Relay GSE is a
standalone graduate school of education with teacher certification and master’s degree programs
designed specifically to respond to today’s demand for effective teachers in low-income
communities” (Relay GSE application history).

! Includes (1) properly accredited private colleges and universities; (2) out-of-state, public institutions; (3)
postsecondary seminaries and bible colleges; and (4) private occupational schools authorized by the Division of
Private Occupational Schools.
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Relay GSE proposes to establish a campus in Colorado to offer a Master of Arts in Teaching
(MAT) degree via a hybrid instruction model (60 percent in-person and 40 percent online) that
includes six licensure areas: elementary, secondary (English, Math, Science, Social Studies), and
special education. Relay GSE has campuses that are similar in nature to the proposed Colorado
campus in Illinois, Texas, New Jersey, Louisiana, Tennessee, and Delaware. Relay GSE plans to
open a campus in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania pending state authorization.

Il. STAFEF ANALYSIS

Relay GSE is a private, not-for-profit postsecondary institution based in New York applying for
provisional authorization to open a campus in Colorado.  The institution is accredited by the
Middle States Commission on Higher Education, a U.S. Department of Education recognized
regional accrediting agency.

As required by the Degree Authorization Act (DAA), Relay GSE submitted initial
documentation concerning its organization, programs, and finances along with the application
fee. As part of the standing process for reviewing such applications, the Department of Higher
Education (DHE) staff empanelled an evaluation team to review Relay GSE’s application. Staff
provided the team with statutory references, DAA rules and regulations, Relay GSE’s application
materials and supporting documents, and charged the team with assessing if Relay GSE meets
the CCHE’s policy and statutory requirements. Staff also charged the team with assessing if
Relay GSE has the potential to get its new Colorado campus accredited by Middle States
Commission on Higher Education. Contained within the application is a letter of support from
Tom Boasberg, Superintendent of Denver Public Schools.

Relay GSE intends to offer a Master of Arts in Teaching out of its Colorado campus once it
attains approvals by the Colorado Commission on Higher Education, the Colorado Department
of Education, and its accrediting agency. Middle States Commission on Higher Education has
provided official acknowledgement of Relay GSE’s intent to establish a campus in Colorado
(Attachment G).

The Degree Authorization Act requires private colleges and universities to file evidence of surety
in the amount of $5,000 in the first year of operation in Colorado. The amount will continue to
be $5,000 until such time that the maximum prepaid, unearned tuition and fees exceeds this
amount. Relay GSE shall recalculate the amount of the surety annually to ensure that it has the
financial ability to provide students with indemnification and alternative enrollment in the event
of an unexpected closure, as required by Colorado law. Relay GSE has secured the required
surety in the form of a bond and documentation is on file.

Under the Degree Authorization Act, an institution that has received provisional authorization by
the CCHE will not be eligible for full authorization until the institution’s accrediting agency
conducts an on-site accreditation visit resulting in the accreditation of the Colorado site.
Provisional Authorization is awarded to institutions that have been evaluated by the DHE staff
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under CCHE procedures and authorized by the CCHE to enroll students, offer instruction,
graduate students, and award degrees under the condition that the institution is continuously
seeking and is making satisfactory progress toward accreditation at the Colorado location.

Attachment A is the initial report provided by the evaluation team. Current procedure allows the
institution to respond to the team’s concerns, correct any inaccurate statements, and most
importantly address the institutional recommendations, which are defined as binding items, in the
evaluators’ report. During the review process, the evaluation team members noted changes they
believe are necessary to bring the institution into compliance with the Degree Authorization Act.
Attachment B is Relay GSE’s response to the first report. Attachment C includes the evaluators’
comments from the institution’s response to the report. Attachments D and E are responses from
Relay GSE addressing the outstanding concerns expressed by the evaluation team. Attachment F
is the final document with comments from the evaluators.

While the evaluation team does not provide an unqualified and full recommendation for
authorization, staff has reviewed each report, responses, and all other application materials and
determined that Relay GSE meets the minimum standards for provisional authorization under the
Degree Authorization Act. Several of the concerns raised by the evaluation team are beyond the
scope of the CCHE’s jurisdiction by statute.

It is important to note that the evaluators refer to Relay GSE’s program as an “alternative teacher
education program at the master’s level,” this is an inaccurate statement. Relay GSE’s program
is a traditional educator preparation program and does not meet the definition of “alternative” as
defined by the Colorado State Board of Education.

Relay GSE’s ultimate goal is to become an approved educator preparation program through the
Colorado Department of Education and through the Colorado Department of Higher Education’s
authorized educator preparation program for licensure. To do this, Relay GSE’s next step is to
apply for approval from the Colorado Department of Education through the State Board of
Education for licensure approval. Once Relay GSE gets through that process it must apply for
approval as an Approved Educator Preparation program under CCHE approved policy, Section I,
Part P and will come back to the CCHE for approval under that statute (§23-1-121, C.R.S.) and

policy.

IV. STAFE RECOMMENDATION

This item is for discussion only; staff will make a recommendation at the October 2015
CCHE meeting.

V. STATUTORY AUTHORITY

C.R.S. §23-2-103.3 Authorization to operate in Colorado — renewal



Colorado Commission on Higher Education (CCHE) Agenda Item 111, C
September 3, 2015 Page 4 of 10
Discussion Item

(1) (@) To operate in Colorado, a private college or university shall apply for and receive
authorization from the commission. A private college or university shall obtain a separate
authorization for each campus, branch, or site that is separately accredited. A private, nonprofit
college or university shall submit with its application verification of nonprofit status, including a
copy of the institution's tax-exempt certificate issued by the Colorado department of revenue.

(b) After receiving an application, the department shall review the application to determine
whether the private college or university is institutionally accredited by a regional or national
accrediting body recognized by the United States department of education. The department shall
not recommend and the commission shall not approve an application from a private college or
university that, in the two years preceding submission of the application, has had its accreditation
suspended or withdrawn or has been prohibited from operating in another state or that has
substantially the same owners, governing board, or principal officers as a private college or
university that, in the two years preceding submission of the application, has had its accreditation
suspended or withdrawn or has been prohibited from operating in another state.

(2) To operate in Colorado, a private college or university shall be institutionally accredited on
the basis of an on-site review by a regional or national accrediting body recognized by the United
States department of education; except that a private college or university may operate for an
initial period without accreditation if the commission determines, in accordance with standards
established by the commission, that the private college or university is likely to become
accredited in a reasonable period of time or is making progress toward accreditation in
accordance with the accrediting body's policies. The commission may grant a provisional
authorization to a private college or university to operate for an initial period without
accreditation. The private college or university shall annually renew its provisional authorization
and report annually to the commission concerning the institution's progress in obtaining
accreditation.

(3) A private college or university shall immediately notify the department of any material
information related to an action by the institution's accrediting body concerning the institution's
accreditation status, including but not limited to reaffirmation or loss of accreditation, approval
of a request for change, a campus evaluation visit, a focused visit, or approval of additional
locations. In addition, the institution shall immediately notify the department if the institution's
accrediting body is no longer recognized by the United States department of education.

(4) To operate in Colorado, a seminary or religious training institution shall apply for and receive
authorization from the department and establish that it qualifies as a bona fide religious
institution and as an institution of postsecondary education, as defined by rules promulgated by
the commission. A seminary or religious training institution that meets the criteria and rules
established by this subsection (4) is exempt from the provisions of subsections (1), (2), and (3) of
this section. A bona fide religious institution and an institution of postsecondary education that
applies for authorization pursuant to this subsection (4) shall pay the fee established according to
section 23-2-104.5.
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(5) A private college or university that has authorization from the commission pursuant to this
section and maintains its accreditation shall apply to the department for reauthorization in
accordance with the schedule for reaccreditation by its accrediting body or every three years,
whichever is longer. A seminary or religious training institution shall apply for reauthorization
every three years. A private college or university or seminary or religious training institution that
seeks reauthorization shall submit an application in accordance with the procedures and policies
adopted by the commission and shall pay the reauthorization fee established by the commission
pursuant to section 23-2-104.5.

(6) Nothing in this section shall preclude a seminary or religious training institution from seeking
accreditation.

(7) (a) By January 1, 2013, the commission shall adopt procedures by which a private college or
university or seminary or religious training institution may renew its authorization to operate in
Colorado. To renew its authorization to operate in Colorado, a private college or university or
seminary or religious training institution shall demonstrate that it continues to meet the minimum
operating standards specified in this section and section 23-2-103.8, if applicable.

(b) () A private college or university that has had its accreditation reaffirmed without sanction,
is in compliance with section 23-2-103.8, and is not subject to investigation pursuant to section
23-2-103.4 is presumed qualified for renewal of authorization, and the department shall
recommend renewal for a period of three years or the length of the institution's accreditation, if
applicable, whichever is longer.

(1) A seminary or religious training institution that continues to meet the minimum operating
standards specified in this section is presumed qualified for renewal of authorization, and the
department shall recommend that the commission renew the institution's authorization for three
additional years.

(c) If a private college or university or seminary or religious training institution cannot
demonstrate that it meets the minimum operating standards specified in this section or section
23-2-103.8, if applicable, the department shall recommend that the commission deny the
institution's application for renewal of the authorization. If, within six months after receiving the
notice of denial of the application for renewal, the institution corrects the action or condition that
resulted in denial of the application for renewal, the institution may reapply for renewal of the
authorization. If the institution does not correct the action or condition within the six-month
period, it may submit a new application for authorization after correcting the action or condition.

(d) If a private college or university is under a sanction from its accrediting body at the time it
files an application for renewal of authorization to operate in Colorado, the department may
recommend that the commission renew the institution's authorization or that the commission
grant a probationary renewal of the institution's authorization. If an institution receives a
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probationary renewal of its authorization, the institution shall reapply for renewal of its
authorization annually until the accrediting body lifts the sanction, and the institution shall
annually report to the commission concerning the institution's progress in removing the sanction.

(e) If the department recommends that the commission grant a probationary renewal of
authorization or deny an application for renewal of authorization, the commission shall notify the
private college or university or seminary or religious training institution concerning the
recommendation, and the department and the commission shall proceed in accordance with the
provisions of the "State Administrative Procedure Act", article 4 of title 24, C.R.S.

C.R.S. 823-2-103.8 (5) Financial integrity — surety
(1) A private college or university is exempt from the provisions of this section if:

(a) The private college or university is a party to a performance contract with the commission
under section 23-5-129; or

(b) The private college or university:

(1) Has been accredited for at least twenty years by an accrediting agency that is recognized by
the United States department of education;

(1) Has operated continuously in this state for at least twenty years; and

(111 Has not at any time filed for bankruptcy protection pursuant to title 11 of the United States
code.

(2) (a) If a private college or university is not exempt from the requirements of this section
pursuant to subsection (1) of this section, the commission shall determine the financial integrity
of the private college or university by confirming that the institution meets or does not meet the
criteria specified in paragraph (b) or (c) of this subsection (2). The private college or university
shall present as part of the application for authorization verifiable evidence that the institution
meets the criteria specified in paragraph (b) or (c) of this subsection (2).

(b) (I) A private college or university may demonstrate financial integrity by meeting the
following criteria:

(A) The institution has been accredited for at least ten years by an accrediting agency that is
recognized by the United States department of education;

(B) The institution has operated continuously in this state for at least ten years;

(C) During its existence, the institution has not filed for bankruptcy protection pursuant to title
11 of the United States code;
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(D) The institution maintains a composite score of at least 1.5 on its equity, primary reserve, and
net income ratios, as required in 34 CFR 668.172; and

(E) The institution meets or exceeds the pro rata refund policies required by the federal
department of education in 34 CFR 668 or, if the institution does not participate in federal
financial aid programs, the institution's refund and termination procedures comply with the
requirements of the institution's accrediting body.

(1) Notwithstanding any provision of subparagraph (I) of this paragraph (b) to the contrary, a
private college or university is not required to meet the criteria specified in sub-subparagraphs
(A) and (B) of subparagraph (I) of this paragraph (b) if the institution is part of a group of private
colleges and universities that are owned and operated by a common owner, so long as all of the
other institutions in the group meet the criteria specified in sub-subparagraphs (A) and (B) of
subparagraph (1) of this paragraph (b).

(c) A private college or university may demonstrate financial integrity by meeting the following
criteria:

() The institution has received and maintains full accreditation without sanction from an
accrediting agency that is recognized by the United States department of education, which
accrediting agency requires the institution to maintain surety or an escrow account or has
affirmatively waived or otherwise removed the requirement for the institution;

(1) The institution has been continuously authorized by the commission for at least five years;
(1) The institution owns and operates a permanent instructional facility in the state;

(IV) The institution annually provides to the commission audited financial statements for the
most recent fiscal year that demonstrate that the institution maintains positive equity and
profitability;

(V) The institution maintains a composite score of at least 1.5 on its equity, primary reserve, and
net income ratios, as required in 34 CFR 668.172; and

(V1) The institution meets or exceeds the pro rata refund policies required by the federal
department of education in 34 CFR 668 or, if the institution does not participate in federal
financial aid programs, the institution's refund and termination procedures comply with the
requirements of the institution's accrediting body.

(3) (a) Each private college or university that is not exempt from the requirements of this section
pursuant to subsection (1) of this section and cannot demonstrate financial integrity as provided
in subsection (2) of this section, as determined by the commission, shall file evidence of surety in
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the amount calculated pursuant to subsection (5) of this section prior to receiving authorization to
operate in Colorado. The surety may be in the form of a savings account, deposit, or certificate of
deposit that meets the requirements of section 11-35-101, C.R.S., or an alternative method
approved by the commission, or one bond as set forth in this section covering the applying
institution. The commission may disapprove an institution's surety if the commission finds the
surety is not sufficient to provide students with the indemnification and alternative enrollment
required by this section.

(b) If a private college or university files a bond, the bond shall be executed by the institution as
principal and by a surety company authorized to do business in this state. The bond shall be
continuous unless the surety is released as set forth in this section.

(4) The surety shall be conditioned to provide indemnification to any student or enrollee, or to
any parent or legal guardian of a student or enrollee, that the commission finds to have suffered
loss of tuition or any fees as a result of any act or practice that is a violation of this article and to
provide alternate enrollment as provided in subsection (7) of this section for students enrolled in
an institution that ceases operation.

(5) The amount of the surety that a private college or university submits pursuant to subsection
(3) of this section is the greater of five thousand dollars or an amount equal to a reasonable
estimate of the maximum prepaid, unearned tuition and fees of the institution for the period or
term during the applicable academic year for which programs of instruction are offered
including, but not limited to, programs offered on a semester, quarter, monthly, or class basis;
except that the institution shall use the period or term of greatest duration and expense in
determining this amount if the institution's academic year consists of one or more periods or
terms. Following the initial filing of the surety with the department, the private college or
university shall recalculate the amount of the surety annually based on a reasonable estimate of
the maximum prepaid, unearned tuition and fees received by the institution for the applicable
period or term.

(6) (a) A student or enrollee, or a parent or guardian of the student or enrollee, who claims loss
of tuition or fees may file a claim with the commission if the claim results from an act or practice
that violates a provision of this article. The claims that are filed with the commission are public
records and are subject to the provisions of article 72 of title 24, C.R.S.; except that the
department shall not make the claims records public if the release would violate a federal privacy
law.

(b) Notwithstanding the provisions of paragraph (a) of this subsection (6), the commission shall
not consider a claim that is filed more than two years after the date the student discontinues his
or her enrollment with the institution.

(7) (a) If a private college or university ceases operation, the commission may make demand on
the surety of the institution upon the demand for a refund by a student or the implementation of
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alternate enrollment for the students enrolled in the institution, and the holder of the surety or, if
the surety is a bond, the principal on the bond shall pay the claim due in a timely manner. To the
extent practicable, the commission shall use the amount of the surety to provide alternate
enrollment for students of the institution that ceases operation through a contract with another
authorized private college or university, a community college, an area vocational school, or any
other arrangement that is acceptable to the department. The alternate enrollment provided to a
student shall replace the original enrollment agreement, if any, between the student and the
private college or university; except that the student shall make the tuition and fee payments as
required by the original enrollment agreement, if any.

(b) A student who is enrolled in a private college or university that ceases operation and who
declines the alternate enrollment required to be offered pursuant to paragraph (a) of this
subsection (7) may file a claim with the commission for the student's prorated share of the
prepaid, unearned tuition and fees that the student paid, subject to the limitations of paragraph (c)
of this subsection (7). The commission shall not make a subsequent payment to a student unless
the student submits proof of satisfaction of any prior debt to a financial institution in accordance
with the commission's rules concerning the administration of this section.

(c) If the amount of the surety is less than the total prepaid, unearned tuition and fees that have
been paid by students at the time the private college or university ceases operation, the
department shall prorate the amount of the surety among the students.

(d) The provisions of this subsection (7) are applicable only to those students enrolled in the
private college or university at the time it ceases operation, and, once an institution ceases
operation, no new students shall be enrolled therein.

(e) The commission is the trustee for all prepaid, unearned tuition and fees, student loans, Pell
grants, and other student financial aid assistance if an authorized private college or university
ceases operation.

(F) The commission shall determine whether offering alternate enroliment for students enrolled in
an authorized private college or university that ceases operation is practicable without federal
government designation of the commission as trustee for student loans, Pell grants, and other
student financial aid assistance pursuant to paragraph (e) of this subsection (7).

(8) For claims made pursuant to this section that do not involve a private college or university
that ceases operation, the commission shall conduct a hearing to determine whether there is loss
of tuition or fees, and, if the commission finds that a claim is valid and due the claimant, the
commission shall make demand upon the surety. If the holder of the surety or, if the surety is a
bond, the principal on the bond fails or refuses to pay the claim due, the commission shall
commence an action on the surety in a court of competent jurisdiction; except that the
commission shall not file an action more than six years after the date of the violation that gives
rise to the right to file a claim pursuant to this section.
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(9) The authorization for a private college or university is suspended by operation of law when
the institution is no longer covered by surety as required by this section. The department shall
give written notice to the institution at the last-known address, at least forty-five days before the
release of the surety, to the effect that the institution's authorization is suspended by operation of
law until the institution files evidence of surety in like amount as the surety being released.

(10) The principal on a bond filed under the provisions of this section is released from the bond
after the principal serves written notice thereof to the commission at least sixty days before the
release. The release does not discharge or otherwise affect a claim filed by a student or enrollee
or his or her parent or legal guardian for loss of tuition or fees that occurred while the bond was
in effect or that occurred under any note or contract executed during any period of time when the
bond was in effect, except when another bond is filed in a like amount and provides
indemnification for any such loss.

(11) Each private college or university that files a surety pursuant to subsection (3) of this section
shall provide annual verification of continued coverage by surety as required by this section in a
report to the commission due by January 1 of each year. The commission may disapprove a
surety if it finds that the surety is not adequate to provide students with the indemnification and
alternate enrollment required by this section.

(12) If a private college or university that is exempt from the provisions of this section or that
demonstrates financial integrity pursuant to subsection (2) of this section ceases to operate in this
state, the state attorney general may file a claim against the institution on behalf of students
enrolled in the institution at the time it ceases operation to recover any amount of unearned,
prepaid tuition that may be owed to the students.

(13) A seminary or religious training institution is not subject to the requirements of this section.

ATTACHMENTS

Attachment A — Evaluators’ initial report

Attachment B — Relay GSE’s initial response

Attachment C — Evaluators’ response

Attachment D — Relay GSE’s response

Attachment E — Relay GSE’s response

Attachment F — Evaluators’ final recommendation

Attachment G — Middle States Commission on Higher Education acknowledgement letter



