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HB 14-1319 was passed by the Colorado General Assembly and signed by the Governor

in May 2014. The bill eliminated the existing funding structure for how state General

Fund dollars are allocated to public institutions of RIS

higher education as of Fiscal Year 2015-16, and [EEIEQSER =R EEE R RSNV ) STt

directed the Colorado Commission on Higher FASERECISEIRIDISCRYERRCHETIE

Education (CCHE) to develop and adopt a new tuition pohmesthatensure b(_)th accessible
. . and affordable higher education for

base funding allocation formula for these funds FeSsss

within specified parameters. HB 14-1319 also G TSI e il

requires that the Colorado Commission on o Level of state funding needed

Higher Education (CCHE) provide tuition policy for institutions

recommendations to the General Assembly by

November 1, 2015.

The need of each institution to

enhance the quality of
programs and offerings to
The purpose of this first in a series of strengthen their financial
informational papers is to provide an overview of position

tuition policy setting practices, identify key issues Tuition policy recommendations must
and provide CCHE with a framework establishing be developed in consultation with
tuition policies that balance ensuring affordable governing boards and interested parties
and accessible higher education while reflecting using an inclusive and transparent
the reality of the cost drivers that institutions process.

face. Future informational papers in the series

will cover:

e Cost Drivers of Higher Education (this will be addressed in a report by the
National Center for Higher Education Management Systems (NCHEMS))

e Fees and Fee policy

e Tuition and Fees, Financial Aid and State Appropriations

Tuition Setting In Colorado

Governing boards determine the tuition for the institutions they govern—often within
statutorily prescribed limits, such as the 6 percent tuition cap under the College
Affordability Act (SB14-001). Tuition setting usually occurs in the spring to allow
incoming and returning students to make decisions and plan for the upcoming year.
The actual impact of tuition rate increases varies from student to student and
depends on a number of factors such as the student’s level (undergraduate or
graduate), residency status (in-state; out of state; international), selected area of
study and eligibility for financial aid.
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The Commission has responsibility to exercise oversight to ensure that educational
quality and student access are maintained consistent with the role and mission of

each institution.

Historically, tuition setting parameters have been defined either through footnote in
the Long Bill or through special legislation. Typically, restrictions focused on a

governing boards’ ability to increase tuition rates
for undergraduate resident students. However, in
some years, a revenue limit was applied—allowing
institutions to apply different rate increases to
different categories of students, as long as the total
projected revenue fit within the limit.

The following provides a recent history of tuition
policy in Colorado.

e 2014-2016: In 2014 the College Affordability
Act (SB 14-001) was passed, providing an
historic $60 million (11 percent) increase for
Colorado’s public institutions of higher
education. Tied to this investment in
operating dollars was a requirement that
resident tuition rate increases be capped at
no more than 6 percent for fiscal year (FY)
2014-15 and FY 2015-16. For FY 2015-16, the
state provided a total operating increase for
public colleges and universities of 11 percent
or $66.6 million.

e 2011 to 2014: The passage of SB 10-003
created a five-year window of tuition-setting
flexibility for higher education governing
boards in response to reduced state funding.
This gave governing boards the authority to
raise tuition rates for resident-undergraduate
students up to 9 percent for each of five
years, from FY 2011-12 through FY 2015-16.

More on Rate Limits vs. Revenue
Limits

Rate limit

Under a rate limit the price of tuition
cannot grow beyond a specified rate.
For example, assuming a rate limit of
5.0%, a tuition rate for a full-time
student of $4,000 in year A would
increase to a maximum tuition price of
$4,200 in year B.

Revenue limit

Under a revenue limit the growth in
the price of tuition is not explicitly
stated, instead the income growth an
institution can generate from tuition is
limited. A revenue limit does
indirectly restrict the rates of tuition
that the institution can charge, but it
allows an institution to implement
different tuition rates for different
categories of students. For example,
with a 5.0 percent revenue limit an
institution might raise a $4,000 tuition
rate by 10 percent to $4,400 for non-
resident students, and then
compensate by holding the tuition rate
increase for all other students to less
than 5.0 percent. Because the number
of non-resident students is small
compared to the rest of the student
population, the institution might only
need to shave a fraction off of the
tuition rate increase for the remaining
student body, depending on the mix of
students.

A mechanism was provided to allow for increases above 9 percent, by
submitting a Financial Accountability Plan for the governing board and having it

approved by CCHE.


http://www.leg.state.co.us/clics/clics2014a/csl.nsf/fsbillcont/040C5229C1B8F2E087257C360075B2B8?Open&file=001_enr.pdf
http://www.leg.state.co.us/clics/clics2010a/csl.nsf/fsbillcont/E7D30EB79557E237872576A80026B0CD?Open&file=003_enr.pdf
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e Prior to 2011: Prior to 2010-11 any restrictions on resident tuition increases
were detailed in a footnote to the Long Bill. It is important to note that prior
to 2011 tuition constraints took the form as either a Rate limit or a Revenue
limit. These limitations are summarized in the following chart.

Summary of Long Bill Footnotes

FY06-07 | FY07-08* | FY08-09** | FY09-10*** FY10-11
Research Institutions - CU System, | 2.5% 7.0% 9.5% 9.0% 9.0%
CSU System, UNC, CSM
Four Year Institutions - ASC, FLC, | 2.5% 5.0% 7.5% 9.0% 9.0%
MSC, MSCD, WSC
Two Year Institutions - CCCS 2.5% 3.5% 5.5% 9.0% 9.0%

*Research and four year institutions were allowed to follow a revenue limitation in FY07-08 as opposed to a rate limit.

**In addition, FY08-09 footnotes allowed governing boards to increase tuition by up to $5 per credit hour above the specific
rate limit provided this increase was approved at a student election.

***The governor vetoed the tuition footnote in FY09-10 but recommended governing boards stay within their spending
authority which was based on 9.0% rate increases.

Tuition Policy across the States

The tuition setting process in Colorado is typical across the country. In most states,
tuition rates are set by institutional governing boards with the State setting outer
limits on tuition rates. Table 1 provides a 50-state overview of the primary tuition-
setting authority.

Table 1. Primary Tuition-Setting Authority

Statewide Governing Local district Individual
Governor Legislature coordinating body board(s) governing board(s) institutions

Two-year sector California* California* Kentucky Alaska Idaho Delaware
Louisiana North Dakota Colorado lowa Ohio*
Ohio* Oklahoma Connecticut Kansas

Georgia Mississippi
Hawaii Nebraska
lllinois New York (SUNY)
Indiana Oregon
Montana

Nevada

New York (CUNY)

Tennessee

Texas

Washington

West Virginia

Wyoming

Four-year sector Florida lowa Alaska Texas Delaware
Louisiana Kentucky California Ohio*
Ohio* North Dakota Colorado Wyoming
Washington Oklahoma Connecticut
South Dakota Georgia
Hawaii
Idaho
Illinois
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Local district
governing board(s)

Statewide
coordinating body

Governing

board(s)

Governor Legislature

Individual
institutions

Indiana

Kansas

Maine
Mississippi
Montana
Nebraska
Nevada

New York (CUNY)
New York (SUNY)
Oregon
Tennessee

West Virginia
Wisconsin

*California and Ohio provided two responses.

Source: State Tuition, Fees, and Financial Assistance Policies for Public Colleges and Universities: 2012-13, State Higher Education Executive Officers

Association.

According to 2013 report from the State Higher Education Executive Officers

Association, state appropriations, prior year’s tuition, financial aid, cost of instruction
and institutional role and mission were identified as common factors influencing
decisions about state tuition policy—with state appropriations ranking #1 for both the
4-year and 2-year sector. This underscores the point that changes in tuition rates are
closely tied to the level of state funding received by institutions of higher education—

as state funding decreases students’ share of the cost typically increases.

As the student share of financing the cost has grown over time, and with state budget
conditions remaining tight, states have employed numerous strategies to restrict the

tuition increases. These include:

Guaranteed Tuition

«Creating guaranteed tuition plans that enable students to pay the same tuition
rate for four years. In 2004, Illinois adopted its Truth in Tuition Policy, which
stipulates that the tuition rate a student is charged in their first semester will
be the tuition rate for four continuous years.

Multi-year tution setting

«Establishing multi-year tuition rates. Mississippi sets tuition rates in two- year
cycles and the State University of New York system adopted a rational tuition
policy that allows institutions to raise tuition up to $300 a year in each of the
next five years (2012-2017) for resident undergraduate students.

Formulas to determine an upper limit for rate increases.

«In 2009, Missouri began using a formula that if an institution’s tuition and fee
increase exceeds the state average increase for 4-year public institutions, along
with the national urban consumer price index (CPI-U), the institution must
either remit five percent of its state appropriation or request a waiver.
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These policies attempt to address the affordability of higher education. However,
addressing the affordability of higher education without compromising quality is a
difficult task.

Next Steps

Establishing a statewide tuition policy begins with developing a framework and a set
of principles to balance student access and affordability with the resources necessary
to maintain a high quality education. The following provides some key items the
Commission may wish to include during the development of state tuition policies to
ensure that the directives of H.B. 14-1319 and CCHE’s Master Plan are met.

Establish tuition policy
in concert with CCHE’s
Master Plan.

Align state support,
tuition, and financial
aid policy.

Develop Tuition
Policies that Reflect
the Share of
Responsibility

One-size Does Not Fit
All

«Tuition policies
should be designed
to help the state
meet the goals
outlined in CCHE’s
Master Plan
1. Increase the
attainment;

2. Improve student
success

3. Enhance access
4. Develop resources
through increases in
state funding

«The major elements
of higher education
financing policy -
appropriations,
tuition, and
financial aid - need
to be considered in
concert in order to
address college
affordability and
student access and
success. Linking
these three
elements is essential
for making strategic
policy decisions that
contribute to
student access and
success while
maintaining quality.

«Tuition policies
should assess and
determine the
appropriate balance
of the role of the
state in providing
general fund support
for higher education
and the
proportionate share
student’s pay.

«Tuition rates should
reflect each
institution’s own
unique niche -
reflecting differing
sectors, missions,
program offerings,
geographic
locations,
competitive
environments, level
of state support,
and other distinct
characteristics.

Further Reading

1. State Tuition, Fees, and Financial Assistance Policies for Public Colleges and
Universities: 2012-13, State Higher Education Executive Officers Association.
http://www.sheeo.org/sites/default/files/publications/Tuition%20and%20Fees

%20Policy%20Report%2020131015.pdf

2. Improving Postsecondary Education Through the Budget Process. National
Association of Budget Officers.
http://www.nasbo.org/sites/default/files/pdf/Improving%20Postsecondary%20

Education%20Through%20the%20Budget%20Process-

Challenges%20and%200pportunities.pdf
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