
Bill No. Short Title FI Sponsors Description Status

House Bills

HB13-1004 Colorado Careers Act of 2013 FI
Duran & Melton /

Kerr

Creates the career pathways program at CDLE. The program provides grants to

eligible entities to enable individuals to acquire skills necessary to obtain

or improve their employability.

Current law requires the department of higher education (department) to produce a 

report on workforce needs and credential production. The bill includes local 

workforce investment boards in the description of entities with whom the department 

should consult to prepare the report.

The report shall include the employment status of persons who have graduated in 

each of the previous five years, whether the degree is consistent with the 

employment status, salary information, and employment benefits.

1/09/13- H-Intro

2/7/13- H-BUS

H-BUS refer amended to H-APP

HB13-1005
Basic Ed & Career & Tech Ed 

Pilot Program
FI

Fields & Buckner /

Todd

ESTF Bill, requires the CCCS to design new certificate programs to allow certain 

unemployed or underemployed adults to obtain a career and technical education 

certificate in 12 months or less. The certificate programs will be offered as a pilot 

program, and are intended to integrate information and math literacy development 

with career and technical training.  ($131,300 FFS)

Examples of programs include certified nursing assistants, welding, early childhood 

education, EMT training, and wind technician.

1/09/13- H-Intro

1/30/13- H-ED

H-ED refer amended to H-APP

HB13-1026

WICHE Equipment & 

Renovations Fee Approp 

Reqmnt

FI
Fischer / Schwartz

(CDC Bill)

CDC bill eliminates the requirement that an appropriation be made prior to spending 

a student fee assessed to out-of-state students that attend the veterinary medicine 

school at Colorado State University (CSU). Non-resident veterinary medicine 

students, including those students enrolled through WICHE, are assessed a $1,001 

annual fee to be used for facility renovations and equipment purchases. Allows for 

streamlined approval. 

1/09/13- H-Intro

1/16/13- H-SA 

1/22/13- H-2nd (Passed)

1/23/13- H-3rd (Passed)

2/8/13- S-Intro 

2/21/13- S-ED

2/26/13- S-2nd (Passed)

2/27/13- S-3rd (Passed)

HB13-1057
Retain Avalanche Information 

Center in DNR
 FI 

Mitsch Bush / 

Nicholson

CGS is scheduled to transfer to the Colorado School of Mines 1/31/13. This transfer 

results from House Bill 12-1355, and a MOU between the president of the

university and DNR. This bill retains the functions of the Colorado Avalanche 

Information Center (CAIC), currently part of the CGS, in the DNR.

Governor - Signed

HB13-1089 Academic Freedom Act  NFI 
Humphrey /

Renfroe

Direct teachers to create an environment that encourages students to intelligently 

and respectfully explore scientific questions and learn about scientific evidence 

related to biological and chemical evolution, global warming, and human cloning.

Direct CDE and CCHE to notify all school districts and institutions of higher education 

of the provisions of their respective act by the beginning of the 2013-2014 school 

year and that the school districts and institutions of higher education shall 

disseminate that information to their employees.

1/16/13- H-Intro

2/4/13- H-ED

H-ED Postpone Indefinitely

2013 Department of Higher Education Legislative Status Report (03/01/13)

Page 1 of 6 3/1/2013



Bill No. Short Title FI Sponsors Description Status

2013 Department of Higher Education Legislative Status Report (03/01/13)

House Bills

HB13-1122
Incentive Well Sev Tax Holiday 

& Higher Ed Funding
 FI 

Scott /

-

For 2 years beginning on July 1, 2013, the bill exempts oil and gas from a well that 

begins production during the 2-year exemption period (incentive well) from the 

severance tax. 

At the end of the exemption period, the oil and gas produced from an incentive well is 

subject to the severance tax, but the tax associated with the incentive well is not 

distributed in the same manner as the revenue from other wells. Instead, this revenue 

is deposited in the college opportunity fund.

1/18/13- H-Intro

2/11/13- H-SA

H-SA Postpone Indefinitely

HB13-1147
Voter Registration at Public 

Higher Ed Institutions
      -   

Melton /

Newell

The bill requires a state institution of higher education to provide its students, when a 

student registers at the institution for the first time, the opportunity to apply for voter 

registration.

1/18/13- H-Intro

Assign- H-SA

2/25/13- H-SA

3/1/13- H-2nd Read (Passed)

HB13-1151
Sales & Use Tax Holiday For 

Higher Ed Textbooks
 FI 

Moreno /

Kefalas

Creates a one-day state sales and use tax exemption (holiday) for any textbook that 

is required or recommended for use at an institution of higher education and that is 

sold by a campus book store. This sales and use tax holiday occurs on the last 

Monday of August of the next 5 years. The exemption applies to new, used, and 

electronic textbooks. (Also permits identical local sales tax holiday.)

1/18/13- H-Intro

2/14/13- H-FIN

2/20/13- H-FIN

H-FIN Postpone Indefinitely

HB 13-1165
Creation of a Manufacturing 

Career Pathway
 FI 

Wilson/

-

This bill requires the SBCCOE, in consultation with DHE, CDE, and CDLE, to create 

a manufacturing career pathway program.  The bill includes an appropriation of $1.0 

million to the CCCS to implement the career pathway.

The manufacturing career pathway shall connect school districts, community 

colleges, and 4-year institutions with adult education programs and local workforce 

development programs and allow a student to earn income while progressing along 

the career pathway.

 

1/30/13- H-Intro

2/18/13- H-ED

H-ED refer to H-APP

HB13-1175
Higher Ed Funding Before 

Medicaid Expansion
 CFI 

Delgrosso /

-

This bill limits the Affordable Care Act’s expansion of Medicaid to newly eligible 

persons until the general fund appropriation to higher education is at least 

$747,000,000, which was approximately the general fund appropriation in 2007.

1/31/13- H-Intro

2/19/13- H-PHC

H-PHC Postponed Indefinitely

HB13-1194
In-State Tuition for Military 

Dependents
 FI 

Everett /

Marble

This bill allows all dependents of members of the armed services, including children 

and spouses, to be eligible for in-state status at a Colorado public institution of higher 

education.  

2/1/13- H-Intro

2/18/13- H-ED

H-ED refer to H-APP

3/8/13- H-APP
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HB13-1219
Statutory Changes to K-12 

Education
 FI 

Hamner /

Todd

This bill makes several changes to existing K-12 statute that affect higher education:

• Establish and maintain an educator identifier system and to review the content of 

educator preparedness programs.

• Remove obsolete reporting requirements for the ASCENT program.

• Change the name of the Literacy Instruction Authorization to an Adult Basic 

Education Authorization.

• A local school board, BOCES, or institute charter high school can endorse high 

school diplomas to indicate that students have achieved postsecondary and 

workforce readiness.  The criteria should reflect the expectations for postsecondary 

and workforce readiness that are applied nationally and internationally.

• CDE shall annually report the total number of potential ASCENT program 

participants for the following school year (instead of on or before September 1).

  

2/4/13- H-Intro

2/18/13- H-ED

H-ED refer to COW

2/22/13- H-2nd Read (Passed)

2/26/13- H-3rd Read (Passed)

HB13-1226 No Concealed Carry at Colleges  FI 
Levy /

Heath

This bill adds to the areas where individuals may not carry a concealed handgun.  

• Buildings at higher education institutions

• Stadiums at higher education institutions

• Sponsored events at higher education institutions

Security officers may carry concealed handguns.

2/7/13- H-Intro 

2/13/13- H-ED

2/14/13- H-APP

2/15/13- H- 2nd Read (Passed)

2/18/13- H-3rd Read (Passed)

3/4/13- S-SA

HB13-1230
Compensation for Persons 

Wrongly Incarcerated
 FI 

Williams /

Guzman

This bill aims to compensate people who have been wrongly incarcerated.  That 

compensation includes tuition waivers at higher education institutions.  CCHE shall 

implement a policy where each institution of higher education in the state shall waive 

tuition costs for an exonerated person, and for any child of an exonerated person who 

was conceived or legally adopted before the exonerated person was incarcerated. 

To receive a tuition waiver, an exonerated person or child of an exonerated person 

must apply to the institution and request such waiver in writing not later than 2 years 

after the later of the following dates:

• The date upon which a district court issued an order of compensation on behalf of 

the exonerated person; or

• In the case of a child of an exonerated person, the date upon which the child 

graduated from high school.

2/13/13- H-Intro

3/7/13- H-JUD
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SB13-023
Increase Damage Caps Under 

CGIA
FI

Cadman & Morse /

Changes the limitation on damages that may be recovered under the Colorado 

Governmental Immunity Act (CGIA) to adjust for inflation. A person suing the 

Colorado Commission on Higher Education, Department of Higher Education, a 

university, college, school or pubic employee is currently able to recover $150,000 to 

one person for a single occurrence and $600,000 for an injury to 2 or more persons 

in a single occurrence. The bill would change those limits to $478,000 and $990,000 

respectively. 

1/16/13- S-Intro

2/27/13- S-JUD

S-JUD refer to COW

SB13-028
Track Utility Data High 

Performance State Building
 FI 

Jones /

Tyler

This bill requires state agencies, including higher education institutions, to monitor, 

track, and verify utility usage data for all state-assisted facilities designed, 

constructed, or substantially renovated on or after July 1, 2013.

1/09/13- S-Intro

2/4/13- S-SA (Passed)

2/11/13- S-2nd Read (Passed)

2/12/13- S-3rd Read (Passed)

2/13/13- H-Intro (assign to H-SA)

SB13-031
Tuition for Dropout Recovery 

Program Students
 FI 

Giron /

Pettersen

HB12-1146 allows a school district and a community college to establish a dropout 

recovery program permitting a student who has dropped out of high school, or 

students at-risk of dropping out, to complete their high school requirements

exclusively at a community college or district junior college.

SB13-031 requires that a school district participating in the program pay the student 

portion of tuition for each class in which the student enrolls (rather than completes). 

1/16/13- S-Intro

1/31/13- S-ED (Passed)

2/11/13- S-2nd Read (Passed)

2/12/13- S-3rd Read (Passed)

2/13/13- H-Intro (assign to H-ED)

2/27/13- H-ED

3/1/13- H-2nd Read (Passed)

SB13-033
In-state Classification CO High 

School Completion
FI

Giron & Johnston /

Duran & Fields

Student shall be charged resident tuition rates at institutions of higher education if:

(1) the student attended high school in the state for at least 3 years immediately 

preceding graduation or attaining a general education equivalent degree (GED); and

(2)  the student is admitted to a school of higher education within 1 academic year 

following graduation, or the attainment of a GED.

<OR>

(3) A high school graduate who has not been admitted to college within 1 year 

following graduation, but who otherwise satisfies the requirements in the bill, may be 

classified as an in-state student for tuition purposes so long as the student has been 

physically present in Colorado for at least 18 months prior to enrolling.

• The student is also eligible for COF stipends. 

• The institutions may also consider these students eligible for institutional or other 

private financial aid programs.  

• A student must submit an affidavit to the admitting institution stating that the student 

has applied for lawful presence, or will apply as soon as he or she is eligible to do so.

1/15/13- S-Intro

1/24/13- S-ED (Passed)

S-ED refer to S-APP

S-APP refer to COW

2/22/13- S-2nd Read (Passed)

2/25/13- S-3rd Read (Passed)

2/27/13- H-ED (Passed)

3/1/13- H-APP (Passed)
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SB13-042
Foreign Asst Med Professor 

Renew Physician License
 FI 

Morse /

Waller

Current law allows distinguished foreign teaching physicians to be licensed to 

practice medicine at a state medical school. 

To renew the license, the distinguished foreign teaching physician must serve as a 

full-time member of its academic faculty at a rank equal to an associate professor or 

higher. Assistant professors cannot renew their licenses.

The bill allows an assistant professor who is a distinguished foreign teaching 

physician to renew his or her license.

1/16/13- S-Intro

2/6/13- S-HHS

2/11/13- S-2nd Read (Passed)

2/12/13- S-3rd Read (Passed)

2/13/13- H-Intro (assign to HIE)

3/14/13- H-HIE

SB13-053
Exchange of Student Data K-12 

and Postsecondary 
 NFI 

Kerr /

Hamner

The bill establishes a procedure between CDE and DHE that allows for the transfer of 

available student data relevant to the transition from high school to the 

postsecondary system. The procedure must utilize student unit record data currently 

collected and maintained by the CDE and administered at no charge to local 

education providers, public institutions of higher education, or students.

1/16/13- S-Intro

2/14/13- S-ED

S-ED to COW

2/22/13- S-2nd Read (Passed)

2/22/13- S-3rd Read (Passed)

3/18/13- H-ED

SB 13-071
Student ID Number for Adult 

Education Programs
      -   

Hudak /

Fields

The bill requires the commissioner of education to assign a unique student identifier 

for each person enrolled in an adult basic education program or GED program, if the 

person has not previously been assigned a state-assigned student identifier in 

Colorado. CDE shall retain records of the state-assigned student identifiers.

1/22/13- S-Intro

2/27/13- S-ED

SB 13-090 Suppl Approp Dept of Higher Ed  N/A 
Steadman /

Levy

Supplemental appropriations are made to the department of higher education.

Additional: $9.3 Million General Fund in FY 12-13 for operating (1.7% increase)

Current:       $513 M

FY 12-13:     ~$522M

1/28/13- S-Intro

1/31/13- S-APP (Passed)

2/1/13- S-2nd (Passed)

2/4/13- S-3rd (Passed)

2/4/13- H-Intro

2/8/13- H-APP

2/8/13- H-2nd Read (Passed)

2/11/13- H-3rd Read (Passed)

2/19/13- Signed by Gov

SB 13-121
Higher Ed Institutions Fee-for-

Service Contracts
 FI 

Lambert /

-

DHE annually enters into fee-for-service contracts with the governing boards of the 

institutions of higher education. The bill repeals language that allows an institution of 

higher education and DHE to transfer a certain percentage of the college opportunity 

fund stipends for use in fee-for-service contracts. 

The amount must reflect the actual cost of the services provided, cannot change over 

the term of the contract, cannot increase or decrease by more than the amount of 

inflation from year to year, and must specify the per-full-time-student amount that the 

department will pay for the services. In their annual reporting, the department must 

provide copies of the fee-for-service contracts.

1/29/13- S-Intro

2/14/13- S-ED

2/20/13 S-ED Postponed 

Indefinitely
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SB 13-133
Distribution of State Share of 

Limited Gaming Funds
 FI 

Steadman /

Gerou

This bill changes the distribution of the Limited Gaming Fund.  The changes that 

affect institutions higher education include: 

• Distribution to the Bioscience Discovery Evaluation Cash Fund – from 18% of the 

statutory Limited Gaming Fund range ($19,200,000 to $48,500,000) to a flat amount 

of  $5,500,000

• Distribution to the Innovative Higher Education Research Fund – from 7% of the 

statutory Limited Gaming Fund range ($19,200,000 to $48,500,000) to a flat amount 

of  $2,100,000 

1/29/12- S-Intro

1/31/13- S-APP (Passed)

2/1/13- S-2nd (Passed)

2/4/13- S-3rd (Passed)

2/4/13- H-Intro

2/15/13- H-APP

H-APP refer to COW

2/21/13- H-2nd Read (Passed)

2/22/13- H-3rd Read (Passed)

SB 13-165
Community Colleges Limited 

Number Bachelor Degrees
 FI 

Todd /

Wilson

The bill allows the state board for community colleges and occupational education 

(SBCCOE) to seek approval from CCHE for up to 10 technical, career and work force 

development baccalaureate degree programs that may be offered at community 

colleges.

The CCHE shall consider:

(1) whether the SBCCOE provides data demonstrating workforce and student 

demand for the degree program;

(2) the regional and professional accreditation requirement for the degree program;

(3) whether the SBCCOE can demonstrate that the degree program is cost-effective; 

and

(4) whether the SBCCOE can demonstrate that the degree program is sufficiently 

distinguishable from a degree program at a public-four year college in the same 

geographic service area, <OR> that the degree program is one that has previously 

been offered successfully in conjunction with another four-year institution of higher 

education. 

Also, CCHE may consult with any public 4 year college that shares the same 

geographic service area as the proposed degree program, to inform the CCHE of any 

anticipated systemwide effects of the new degree program.

2/7/13- S-Intro (assign to S-ED)

SB13-178
Red Rocks Physician Assistant 

Graduate Program
 NFI 

Hudak /

Hamner

This bill changes the role and mission of Red Rocks Community College to allow it to 

offer a physician assistant masters degree.

This bill is being pursued on account of  a requirement change from the accrediting 

body of physician assistants (ARC-PA).  

Currently, Red Rocks Community College offers a certificate program in physician 

assistant studies.  Through an affiliation with St. Francis University in Pennsylvania, 

students may obtain a master of medical science degree. 

ARC-PA standards state that programs accredited prior to 2013 that do not currently 

offer a graduate degree must transition to conferring a graduate degree, which 

should  be awarded by the sponsoring institutions, upon all PA students who 

matriculate into the program after 2020.

2/13/13-S-Intro

(assigned to S-HHS)

3/13/13- S-HHS
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