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House Bills
Creates the career pathways program at CDLE. The program provides grants to
eligible entities to enable individuals to acquire skills necessary to obtain
or improve their employability.
Duran & Melton / 1/09/13- H-Intro
HB13-1004 Colorado Careers Act of 2013 Fi - Current law requires the department of higher education (department) to produce a  |Assign- H-BUS
report on workforce needs and credential production. The bill includes local workforce
investment boards in the description of entities with whom the department should
consult to prepare the report.
ESTF Bill, requires the CCCS to design new certificate programs to allow certain
. . unemployed or underemployed adults to obtain a career and technical education 1/09/13- H-Intro
HB13-1005 Basic EiﬁofgiieifmTeCh Ed Fl Fields & ?uckner / certificate in 12 months or less. The certificate programs will be offered as a pilot 1/28/13- H-ED
9 program, and are intended to integrate information and math literacy development ED refer amended to APP
with career and technical training. ($131,300 FFS)
CDC bill eliminates the requirement that an appropriation be made prior to spending
WICHE Equipment & a student fee assessed to out-of-state students that attend the veterinary medicine  [1/09/13- H-Intro
HB13-1026 Renovationg Fge ADDIO Fl Fischer / Schwartz [school at Colorado State University (CSU). Non-resident veterinary medicine 1/16/13- H-SA (Passed)
Reqmnt pprop (CDC Bill) students, including those students enrolled through WICHE, are assessed a $1,001 [1/22/13- H-2nd (Passed)
q annual fee to be used for facility renovations and equipment purchases. Allows for 1/23/13- H-3rd (Passed)
streamlined approval.
CGS is scheduled to transfer to the Colorado School of Mines 1/31/13. This transfer
HB13-1057 Retain Avalanche Information Al Mitsch Bush / results from House Bill 12-1355, and a MOU between the president of the Governor - Sianed
Center in DNR Nicholson university and DNR. This bill retains the functions of the Colorado Avalanche g
Information Center (CAIC), currently part of the CGS, in the DNR.
Direct teachers to create an environment that encourages students to intelligently
and respectfully explore scientific questions and learn about scientific evidence
related to biological and chemical evolution, global warming, and human cloning.
. Humphrey / 1/16/13- H-Intro
HB13-1089 Academic Freedom Act NFI Renfroe Direct CDE and CCHE to notify all school districts and institutions of higher education (2/4/13- H-ED

of the provisions of their respective act by the beginning of the 2013-2014 school
year and that the school districts and institutions of higher education shall
disseminate that information to their employees.
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Bill No. Short Title Sponsors Description
House Bills
For 2 years beginning on July 1, 2013, the bill exempts oil and gas from a well that
begins production during the 2-year exemption period (incentive well) from the
severance tax.
HB13-1122 Incentive_WeII Sev Tax_HoIiday Al Scott / 1/18/13- H-Intro
& Higher Ed Funding - At the end of the exemption period, the oil and gas produced from an incentive well is [2/11/13- H-SA
subject to the severance tax, but the tax associated with the incentive well is not
distributed in the same manner as the revenue from other wells. Instead, this
revenue is deposited in the college opportunity fund.
This bill eliminates the state sales and use tax exemption for cigarettes. On 2/1/13,
two amendments were added. 1/18/13- H-Intro
HB13-1144 Eliminate Cigarette Sales & Use Al Kagan / 1. Each year, the tax receipts attributable to cigarettes shall be transferred to the 1/31/13- H-FIN
Tax Exemption Steadman College Opportunity Fund (COF). FIN refer unamended to COW
2. The money transferred into the COF shall not replace other higher education 2/1/13- H-2nd (Passed) amended
funding.
HB13.1147 | VelerRegistiation at Public Melton /|0 registes at the inttuton fo he it time, the opportunty t iy for voter | V18/13 FInto
Higher Ed Institutions Newell . . ' Assign- H-SA
registration.
Creates a one-day state sales and use tax exemption (holiday) for any textbook that
is required or recommended for use at an institution of higher education and that is /18/13- H-Int
Sales & Use Tax Holiday For Moreno / sold by a campus book store. This sales and use tax holiday occurs on the last L /L3 F-INtro
HB13-1151 . . . Assign- H-FIN
Higher Ed Textbooks Kefalas Monday of August of the next 5 years. The exemption applies to new, used, and .
. s . . Assign- H-APP
electronic textbooks. (Also permits identidal local sales tax holiday.)
This bill requires the SBCCOE, in consultation with DHE, CDE, and CDLE, to create
a manufacturing career pathway program. The bill includes an appropriation of $1.0
million to the CCCS to implement the career pathway.
HB 13-1165 Creation of a Manufacturing Wilson/ The manufacturing career pathway shall connect school districts, community 1/30/13- H-Intro

Career Pathway

colleges, and 4-year institutions with adult education programs and local workforce
development programs and allow a student to earn income while progressing along
the career pathway.

Assign- H-ED
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Short Title

Sponsors

Description

Senate Bills

SB13-031

Tuition for Dropout Recovery
Program Students

Fl

Giron /
Pettersen

HB12-1146 allows a school district and a community college to establish a dropout
recovery program permitting a student who has dropped out of high school, or
students at-risk of dropping out, to complete their high school requirements
exclusively at a community college or district junior college.

SB13-031 requires that a school district participating in the program pay the student
portion of tuition for each class in which the student enrolls (rather than completes).

1/16/13- S-Intro

1/31/13- S-ED (Passed)

Refer to COW

SB13-033

In-state Classification CO High
School Completion

Fl

Giron & Johnston /
Duran & Fields

Student shall be charged resident tuition rates at institutions of higher education if:

(1) the student attended high school in the state for at least 3 years immediately
preceding graduation or attaining a general education equivalent degree (GED); and

(2) the student is admitted to a school of higher education within 1 academic year
following graduation, or the attainment of a GED.

<OR>

(3) A high school graduate who has not been admitted to college within 1 year
following graduation, but who otherwise satisfies the requirements in the bill, may be
classified as an in-state student for tuition purposes so long as the student has been
physically present in Colorado for at least 18 months prior to enrolling.

» The student is also eligible for COF stipends.

* The institutions may also consider these students eligible for institutional or other
private financial aid programs.

* A student must submit an affidavit to the admitting institution stating that the student
has applied for lawful presence, or will apply as soon as he or she is eligible to do so.

1/15/13- S-Intro

1/24/13- S-ED (Passed)

Assign- S-App
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Bill No. Short Title Sponsors Description
Senate Bills
The bill establishes a procedure between CDE and DHE that allows for the transfer of
Exchange of Student Data K-12 Kerr / available student data relevant to the transmon_ from high schqol to the 1/16/13- S-Intro
SB13-053 and Postsecondar NFI Hamner postsecondary system. The procedure must utilize student unit record data currently 2/14/13- S-ED
y collected and maintained by the CDE and administered at no charge to local
education providers, public institutions of higher education, or students.
The bill requires the commissioner of education to assign a unique student identifier
SB 13-071 Student ID Number for Adult ) Hudak/Fields for each person enrolled in an adult basic education program or GED program, if the |1/22/13- S-Intro
Education Programs person has not previously been assigned a state-assigned student identifier in 2/21/13- S-ED
Colorado. CDE shall retain records of the state-assigned student identifiers.
1/28/13- S-Intro
SB 13-090 Suppl Approp Dept of Higher Ed - Steadman/Levy Supplemental appropriations are made to the department of higher education. 1/31/13- S-APP (Passed)
Refer to COW
DHE annually enters into fee-for-service contracts with the governing boards of the
institutions of higher education. The bill repeals language that allows an institution of
higher education and DHE to transfer a certain percentage of the college opportunity
fund stipends for use in fee-for-service contracts.
SB 13-121 Higher Ed Institutions Fee-for- - Lambert/ The amount must reflect the actual cost of the services provided, cannot change over 1/29/13- S-Intro
Service Contracts - . Assign- S-ED
the term of the contract, cannot increase or decrease by more than the amount of
inflation from year to year, and must specify the per-full-time-student amount that the
department will pay for the services. In their annual reporting, the department must
provide copies of the fee-for-service contracts.
This bill changes the distribution of the Limited Gaming Fund. The changes that
affect institutions higher education include:
« Distribution to the Bioscience Discovery Evaluation Cash Fund — from 18% of the
T statutory Limited Gaming Fund range ($19,200,000 to $48,500,000) to a flat amount |1/29/12- S-Intro
SB 13-133 Distribution of State Share of | Steadman/ of $5,500,000 1/31/13- S-APP (Passed)
Limited Gaming Funds Gerou

« Distribution to the Innovative Higher Education Research Fund — from 7% of the
statutory Limited Gaming Fund range ($19,200,000 to $48,500,000) to a flat amount
of $2,100,000

Refer to COW
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