2013 Department of Higher Education Legislative Status Report (04/05/13)
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House Bills
Creates the career pathways program at CDLE. The program provides grants to
eligible entities to enable individuals to acquire skills necessary to obtain
or improve their employability.
Current law requires the department of higher education (department) to produce a  |1/09/13- H-Intro
Duran & Melton /  |report on workforce needs and credential production. The bill includes local 2/7/13- H-BUS
HB13-1004 Colorado Careers Act of 2013 Fi Kerr workforce investment boards in the description of entities with whom the department |H-BUS refer amended to H-APP
should consult to prepare the report. 4/1/13- H-APP refer to COW
H-2nd Read (LOD)
The report shall include the employment status of persons who have graduated in
each of the previous five years, whether the degree is consistent with the
employment status, salary information, and employment benefits.
ESTF Bill, requires the CCCS to design new certificate programs to allow certain
unemployed or underemployed adults to obtain a career and technical education
certificate in 12 months or less. The certificate programs will be offered as a pilot 1/09/13- H-Intro
HB13-1005 Basic Ed & Career & Tech Ed Fl Fields & Buckner/ |program, and are intended to integrate information and math literacy development 1/30/13- H-ED
Pilot Program Todd with career and technical training. ($131,300 FFS) H-ED refer amended to H-APP
4/9/13- H-APP
Examples of programs include certified nursing assistants, welding, early childhood
education, EMT training, and wind technician.
1/09/13- H-Intro
CDC bill eliminates the requirement that an appropriation be made prior to spending B [T
. " 1/22/13- H-2nd (Passed)
’ a student fee assessed to out-of-state students that attend the veterinary medicine
WICHE Equipment & ) . : . . - 1/23/13- H-3rd (Passed)
- Fischer / Schwartz |school at Colorado State University (CSU). Non-resident veterinary medicine
HB13-1026 Renovations Fee Approp Fl . . . 2/8/13- S-Intro
Reqmnt (CDC Bill) students, including those students enrolled through WICHE, are assessed a $1,001 2/21/13- S-ED
ztr;z:ii"fﬁzézberzizﬁ for facility renovations and equipment purchases. Allows for 2/26/13- S-2nd (Passed)
pRrovaL 2/27/13- S-3rd (Passed)
Governor - Signed
CGS is scheduled to transfer to the Colorado School of Mines 1/31/13. This transfer
HB13-1057 Retain Avalanche Information Fl Mitsch Bush / results from House Bill 12-1355, and a MOU between the president of the e - ST
Center in DNR Nicholson university and DNR. This bill retains the functions of the Colorado Avalanche 9
Information Center (CAIC), currently part of the CGS, in the DNR.
. Humphrey/
AcademicFreedem-Aet :
HB13-1089 NF-
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Bill No. Short Title Sponsors Description Status
House Bills
. .
831122 & Higher Ed Funding aas -
Assign- H-SA
2/25/13- H-SA
Voter Registration at Public Melton / The bill requires a state institution of higher education to provide its students, when a |3/1/13- H-2nd Read (Passed)
HB13-1147 r'Reg A Fl student registers at the institution for the first time, the opportunity to apply for voter |3/5/13- H-3rd Read (Passed)
Higher Ed Institutions Newell : .
registration. 3/20/13- S-SA
4/2/13- S-2nd Read (Passed)
4/3/13- S-3rd Read (Passed)
B13-115 Sales & Use Tax Holiday For- Moreno/
HigherEd-Fextbooks b Kefalas
This bill requires the SBCCOE, in consultation with DHE, CDE, and CDLE, to create
a manufacturing career pathway program. The bill includes an appropriation of $1.0
million to the CCCS to implement the career pathway. 1/30/13- H-Intro
HB 13-1165 Creation of a Manufacturing Fl Wilson/ The manufacturing career pathway shall connect school districts, community 2/18/13- H-ED
Career Pathway - N ’ : H-ED refer to H-APP
colleges, and 4-year institutions with adult education programs and local workforce
h ; . 4/12/13- H-APP
development programs and allow a student to earn income while progressing along
the career pathway.
. .
HB13-1175 gher Ea rURaing Betore -CF- Sigrosse
Medieaid-Expansion -
2/1/13- H-Intro
2/18/13- H-ED
H-ED refer to H-APP
In-State Tuition for Militar Everett / This bill allows all dependents of members of the armed services, including children |3/8/13- H-APP
HB13-1194 Dependents Y Fl Marble and spouses, to be eligible for in-state status at a Colorado public institution of higher [H-APP refer to COW
P education. 3/15/13- H-2nd Read (Passed)
3/18/13- H-3rd Read (Passed)
4/3/13- S Intro (assigned to SA)
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This bill makes several changes to existing K-12 statute that affect higher education:
« Establish and maintain an educator identifier system and to review the content of
2/4/13- H-Intro
educator preparedness programs. 2/18/13- H-ED
* Remove obsolete reporting requirements for the ASCENT program.
: . . . H-ED refer to COW
« Change the name of the Literacy Instruction Authorization to an Adult Basic
Education Authorization 2/22/13- H-2nd Read (Passed)
HB13-1219 Statutory Changes to K-12 Fl Hamner / « A local school board, BOCES, or institute charter high school can endorse high 2/26/13- H-3rd Read (Passed)
Education Todd . L . 3/1/13- H-Intro (assigned to S-ED)
school diplomas to indicate that students have achieved postsecondary and 3/14/13- S-ED
workforce readiness. The criteria should reflect the expectations for postsecondary
: ) . - : 3/19/13- S-2nd Read (Passed)
and workforce readiness that are applied nationally and internationally.
) 3/20/13- S-3rd Read (Passed)
* CDE shall annually report the total number of potential ASCENT program Sent to Governor
participants for the following school year (instead of on or before September 1).
Levy/
HB13-1226 No Concealed Carry at Colleges
b Heath
This bill aims to compensate people who have been wrongly incarcerated. That
compensation includes tuition waivers at higher education institutions. CCHE shall
implement a policy where each institution of higher education in the state shall waive
tuition costs for an exonerated person, and for any child of an exonerated person who
was conceived or legally adopted before the exonerated person was incarcerated. 2/13/13- H-Intro
Compensation for Persons Williams / 3/7/13- H-JUD
HB13-1230 WFr)on v Incarcerated Fl Guzman To receive a tuition waiver, an exonerated person or child of an exonerated person H-JUD to H-APP
gy must apply to the institution and request such waiver in writing not later than 2 years |4/1/13- H-JUD
after the later of the following dates: H-2nd Read (LOD)
» The date upon which a district court issued an order of compensation on behalf of
the exonerated person; or
« In the case of a child of an exonerated person, the date upon which the child
graduated from high school.
This bill extends the educational success task force until July 1, 2018. The bill
removes the legislative members from the task force and places them in a separate |3/1/13- H-Intro
HB13-1244 Continuation of Ed Success Al Fields / committee that will oversee the work of the task force. The legislative council staff 3/18/13- H-ED

Task Force

and the office of legislative legal services will provide staff support for the legislative
committee, but not for the task force. The citizen task force is staffed by DHE and
CDE, but precludes additional appropriations for that support.

H-ED refer to H-APP
4/1/13- H-APP to COW
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Bill No. Short Title Sponsors Description Status

-This bill repeals the exemption for nonprofit private occupational schools and makes
them subject to authorization and regulation by the private occupational school
board.
-This bill requires at least one member to be familiar with federal funds and loans
Private Occupational School Primavera / instgaq of the Colorado Student LO?” Program.l . .
HB13-1263 ) - -This bill repeals the board's authority to accredit a private occupational school, but

Requirements Heath . . ’ . h

the board will continue to authorize private occupational schools.

-This bill instead requires the private occupational school to provide documentation
establishing the school's financial stability instead of various financial documents.
-Lastly, this bill repeals the requirement that a person who has a complaint must go
to the school first and allows a person to file a complaint directly with the board.

3/15/13- H-Intro
4/8/13- H-ED
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1/09/13- S-Intro
2/4/13- S-SA (Passed)
2/11/13- S-2nd Read (Passed)
- . L . . T . 2/12/13- S-3rd Read (Passed)
Track Utility Data High Jones / This bill requires sFa'te agencies, including higher .educatlolnl [nstltutlgns, to monitor, 2/13/13- H-Intro (assign to H-SA)
SB13-028 g Fl track, and verify utility usage data for all state-assisted facilities designed,
PREIIEED S B EURTE IS constructed, or substantially renovated on or after July 1, 2013 S [
' y yL ' H-SA refer to COW
3/8/13- H-2nd Read (Passed)
3/11/13- H-3rd Read (Passed)
3/22/13- Signed by Governor
1/16/13- S-Intro
HB12-1146 allows a school district and a community college to establish a dropout  |1/31/13- S-ED (Passed)
recovery program permitting a student who has dropped out of high school, or 2/11/13- S-2nd Read (Passed)
Tuition for Dropout Recover Giron / students at-risk of dropping out, to complete their high school requirements 2/12/13- S-3rd Read (Passed)
SB13-031 P Y Fl exclusively at a community college or district junior college. 2/13/13- H-Intro (assign to H-ED)
Program Students Pettersen
2/27/13- H-ED
SB13-031 requires that a school district participating in the program pay the student |3/1/13- H-2nd Read (Passed)
portion of tuition for each class in which the student enrolls (rather than completes). |3/5/13- H-3rd Read (Passed)
Sent to Governor
3/15/13- Signed by Governor
Student shall be charged resident tuition rates at institutions of higher education if:
(1) the student attended high school in the state for at least 3 years immediately
preceding graduation or attaining a general education equivalent degree (GED); and 1/15/13- S-Intro
(2) the student is admitted to a school of higher education within 1 academic year 1/24/13- S-ED (Passed)
following graduation, or the attainment of a GED S-ED refer to S-APP
<OR> 99 ' ' S-APP refer to COW
e ) A . . - 2/22/13- S-2nd Read (Passed)
SB13-033 In-state Classification CO High Al Giron & Johnston / |(3) A high school graduate who has not been admitted to college within 1 year 2/25/13- S-3rd Read (Passed)

School Completion

Duran & Fields

following graduation, but who otherwise satisfies the requirements in the bill, may be
classified as an in-state student for tuition purposes so long as the student has been
physically present in Colorado for at least 18 months prior to enrolling.

« The student is also eligible for COF stipends.

« The institutions may also consider these students eligible for institutional or other
private financial aid programs.

« A student must submit an affidavit to the admitting institution stating that the student
has applied for lawful presence, or will apply as soon as he or she is eligible to do so.

2/27/13- H-ED
3/1/13- H-APP
3/5/13- H-2nd Read (Passed)
3/8/13- H-3rd Read (Passed)
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Current law allows distinguished foreign teaching physicians to be licensed to 1/16/13- S-Intro
practice medicine at a state medical school. 2/6/13- S-HHS
2/11/13- S-2nd Read (Passed)
SB13-042 Foreign Asst Mgd Professor Fl Morse / To renew the license, the distinguished foreign teaching physician must serve as a  (2/12/13- S-3rd Read _(Passed)
Renew Physician License Waller full-time member of its academic faculty at a rank equal to an associate professor or [2/13/13- H-Intro (assign to HIE)
higher. Assistant professors cannot renew their licenses. 3/14/13- H-HIE
3/22/13- H-2nd Read (Passed)
The bill allows an assistant professor who is a distinguished foreign teaching 3/25/13- H-3rd Read (Passed)
physician to renew his or her license.
1/16/13- S-Intro
2/14/13- S-ED
The bill establishes a procedure between CDE and DHE that allows for the transfer of|S-ED to COW
Exchange of Student Data K-12 Kerr / available student data relevant to the transitioq from high schqol to the 2/22/13- S-2nd Read (Passed)
SB13-053 and Postsecondary NFI Hamner postsecondary system. The procedure must utilize student unit record data currently [2/22/13- S-3rd Read (Passed)
collected and maintained by the CDE and administered at no charge to local 3/18/13- H-ED
education providers, public institutions of higher education, or students. 3/26/13- H-2nd Read (Passed)
3/27/13- H-3rd Read (Passed)
1/22/13- S-Intro
3/14/13- S-ED
The bill requires the commissioner of education to assign a unique student identifier 3/19/13- S-2nd Read (Passed)
; ] : . 3/20/13- S-3rd Read (Passed)
SB 13-071 Student ID_Number for Adult NEI Hgdak/ for each person enr(_)lled inan adult'basn: education program or GED program, if the 3/20/13- H-Intro (assigned to ED)
Education Programs Fields person has not previously been assigned a state-assigned student identifier in
Colorado. CDE shall retain records of the state-assigned student identifiers. 3/28/13- H-ED
4/1/13- H-2nd Read (Passed)
4/2/13- H-3rd Read (Passed)
1/28/13- S-Intro
Supplemental appropriations are made to the department of higher education. 1/31/13- S-APP (Passed)
2/1/13- S-2nd (Passed)
Additional: $9.3 Million General Fund in FY 12-13 for operating (1.7% increase) 2/4/13- S-3rd (Passed)
. Steadman / 2/4/13- H-Intro
SB 13-090 Suppl Approp Dept of Higher Ed| N/A Levy ST $513 M 2/8/13- H-APP
2/8/13- H-2nd Read (Passed)
FY 12-13: ~$522M 2/11/13- H-3rd Read (Passed)
2/19/13- Signed by Gov
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1/29/12- S-Intro
This bill changes the distribution of the Limited Gaming Fund. The changes that MERALS SHalPl (PRSSEt)
T . Lo . 2/1/13- S-2nd (Passed)
affect institutions higher education include: 2/4/13- S-3rd (Passed)
« Distribution to the Bioscience Discovery Evaluation Cash Fund — from 18% of the 21413~ H-Intro
Distribution of State Share of Steadman / statutory Limited Gaming Fund range ($19,200,000 to $48,500,000) to a flat amount
SB 13-133 L . Fl 2/15/13- H-APP
Limited Gaming Funds Gerou of $5,500,000
e . . . H-APP refer to COW
« Distribution to the Innovative Higher Education Research Fund — from 7% of the
o ) 2/21/13- H-2nd Read (Passed)
statutory Limited Gaming Fund range ($19,200,000 to $48,500,000) to a flat amount
of $2,100.000 2/22/13- H-3rd Read (Passed)
Sent to Governor
3/8/13- Signed by Gov
The bill allows the state board for community colleges and occupational education
(SBCCOE) to seek approval from CCHE for up to 10 technical, career and work force
development baccalaureate degree programs that may be offered at community
colleges.
The CCHE shall consider:
(1) whether the SBCCOE provides data demonstrating workforce and student
demand for the degree program;
(2) the regional and professional accreditation requirement for the degree program; |2/7/13- S-Intro (assign to S-ED)
3/14/13- S-ED
SB 13-165 Community Colleges Limited Al Todd / (3) whether the SBCCOE can demonstrate that the degree program is cost-effective; [3/19/13- S-2nd Read (Passed)
Number Bachelor Degrees Wilson and 3/20/13- S-3rd Read (Passed)
3/20/13- H-Intro (assigned to ED)
(4) whether the SBCCOE can demonstrate that the degree program is sufficiently 4/8/13- H-ED
distinguishable from a degree program at a public-four year college in the same
geographic service area, <OR> that the degree program is one that has previously
been offered successfully in conjunction with another four-year institution of higher
education.
Also, CCHE may consult with any public 4 year college that shares the same
geographic service area as the proposed degree program, to inform the CCHE of any
anticipated systemwide effects of the new degree program.
This bill changes the role and mission of Red Rocks Community College to allow it to
offer a physician assistant masters degree.
This bill is being pursued on account of a requirement change from the accrediting |2/13/13-S-Intro
body of physician assistants (ARC-PA). 3/13/13- S-HHS
S-HHS refer to S-ED
SB13-178 Red Rocks Physician Assistant NFI Hudak / Currently, Red Rocks Community College offers a certificate program in physician 3/22/13- S-ED
Graduate Program Hamner assistant studies. Through an affiliation with St. Francis University in Pennsylvania, [3/27/13- S-2nd Read (Passed)

students may obtain a master of medical science degree.

ARC-PA standards state that programs accredited prior to 2013 that do not currently
offer a graduate degree must transition to conferring a graduate degree, which
should be awarded by the sponsoring institutions, upon all PA students who

matriculate into the program after 2020.
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SB13-206

Direct Deposit Income Tax
Refunds College Savings

Hudak /
Pettersen

The Department of Revenue and the Department of Higher Education’s
Collegelnvest Division shall develop a direct deposit option to be included on the
Colorado tax return form.

-The direct deposit option shall be limited to a single 529 account administered
through Collegelnvest.

-The tax return deposit section shall include information on how to set up a
Collegelnvest 529 account.

-This shall be included on the 2013 state tax return form.

3/13/13- S-Intro
4/9/13- S-FIN

SB13-218

CO Key Industries Workforce
Grant Program

Heath /

The bill creates the Colorado key industries workforce program to provide moneys to
state institutions of higher education to assist nontraditional students who are
seeking bachelor's degrees in key industry sectors. Eligible institutions must partner
with a key industries that anticipate hiring students who complete the degree, and
who agree to match funds received through the grant program.

The grant program is overseen by a board established by DHE consisting of the
director of OEDIT and 10 other representatives from higher education and business
appointed by the Governor.

3/15/13- S-Intro
4/10/13- S-ED
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