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TOPIC: REVISIONS TO ADMISSION STANDARDS POLICY

PREPARED BY: JULIE CARNAHAN, MATTHEW MCKEEVER

l. SUMMARY

At the July 2008 meeting Commission directed staff to revise the Admission policy on the
2010 HEAR requirements to (A) include an exemption for students whose index number
exceeds the minimum institutional admissions index number by more than 10 points®;
(B) to include that each institution’s window size and the 20% window be calculated and
applied on a statewide rather than an institutional basis; and (C) to include language that
defines a process for school districts to apply for waivers from HEAR requirements for
graduates of that district’s high school. The draft policy (Attachment A) reflects these
directives.

Staff recommends that the Commission approve revisions to Commission policy Section
I Academic Affairs: Part F Admissions Standards.

1. BACKGROUND

Since 1986, the Colorado Commission on Higher Education has held the authority to
establish statewide admission standards for public colleges and universities. C.R.S. 23-1-
113 directs the Commission to establish admission standards for public baccalaureate and
graduate institutions of higher education. The statute states that “The criteria established
and the specified performance levels shall be consistent with the role and mission
established for each state-supported institution of higher education.” In addition, the
statute requires that admission policies use a combination of “high school academic
performance indicators” which include, but are not limited to, grade point average
(GPA), class rank, and content standard performance level assessments.

The standards established by the Commission in 1987 for entering freshmen were based
on the calculation of an admission index. The index has two components: a student’s high
school performance (i.e., high school GPA or class rank) and performance on a
standardized test. Each public four-year college or university in Colorado is assigned a
minimum admissible index number based on the role and mission of the institution.

In 2003, the Admission Standards Policy was modified to include minimum academic
coursework requirements, otherwise known as the Higher Education Admission
Requirements (HEAR). Effective with applicants who graduate from high school in
spring 2010 or later, in-state and out-of-state freshmen must meet the institution’s index
standard and have completed the required pre-collegiate curriculum (if applicable) to

! More than 15 points for MSCD.
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meet CCHE’s freshmen admission standards. Included in the policy are provisions that
exempt students from meeting admissions standards and HEAR 2010 requirements.
Exemptions are typically allowed for students who are not in the category of first-time
college-going students or who are able to demonstrate comparable knowledge and
competencies.

The 17 academic units required for applicants who graduate high school in the spring of
2010 or later are listed below.

Table A: 2010 Higher Education Admission Requirements

Academic Area* 2010+ Graduates
English** 4 years
Mathematics (Must include Algebra I, Geometry, 4 years

Algebra Il or equivalents)***

Natural/Physical Sciences (two units must be lab- 3 years

based)***

Social Sciences (at least one unit of U.S. or world 3 years

history)

Foreign Language 1 year

Academic Electives**** 2years

* CCHE, CDE, and School Districts are developing standards for alternative
demonstration of proficiency to be accepted in lieu of course completion. For course
guidelines see paragraph 4.01 of the Admissions Standards Policy.
**Two units of ESL English may count for HEAR requirements when combined
with two units of successfully completed college preparatory English.
***College-preparatory ESL mathematics/science courses that include content and
academic rigor/level comparable to other acceptable courses may satisfy HEAR
requirements.

****Acceptable Academic Electives include additional courses in English,
mathematics, natural/physical sciences and social sciences, foreign languages, art,
music, journalism, drama, computer science, honors, Advanced Placement,
International Baccalaureate courses, and appropriate CTE courses.

1. STAFF ANALYSIS

A. Students Exempt from Higher Education Admission Requirements

The Commission directed staff to revise the Admission policy on the 2010 HEAR
requirements to include an exemption for students whose index number exceeds the
minimum institutional admissions index number by more than 10 points?. The pproposed
policy changes (Attachment A) adhere to the intent of the recommendation discussed and
approved at the July 2008 meeting.

2 More than 15 points for MSCD.



Colorado Commission on Higher Education (CCHE) Agenda Item I, D
September 11, 2008 Page 3 of 5
Action Item

The exemption would be effective for students graduating from high school in spring of
2010 and later. The primary purpose of HEAR requirements was to reduce the
remediation rates of entering students and as a consequence increase retention and
graduation rates. An analysis of the relationship between index numbers and remediation
rates of entering students suggests that remediation rates decrease significantly with
higher index numbers.

Table B: Fall 2006 Comparison of the Number of Students Needing Remediation - by Index Score

Fall 2006 1st Remedial # 10+ | Remedial %

Time Remedial points above 10+ points

Institution Index Enroliment # Remedial % index above index
Adams State College 80 449 291 64.81%) 117 26.06%
Colorado School of Mines 110 755 16 2.12% 0 0.00%
Colorado State University 101 4052 316 7.80%, 29 0.72%
Colorado State University - Pueblo 86 592 314 53.04%) 108 18.24%
Fort Lewis College 80 876 265 30.25%) 122 13.93%
Mesa State College 80 1067 564 52.86%) 244 22.87%
Metropolitan State College of Denver 76 1386 468 33.77%)| 211 15.22%
University of Colorado - Boulder 103 5606 86 1.53% 5 0.09%
University of Colorado - Colorado Springs 92 970 4 0.41% 8 0.31%
University of Colorado at Denver and Health Sciences Center 93 902 252 27.94%) 69 7.65%
University of Northern Colorado 94 2453 787 32.08%) 139 5.67%
Western State College 80 499 194 38.88%) 69 13.83%
19607 3557 18.14% 1116 5.69%

Source: SURDS data, Fall 2006
* MSCD Remedial count and percentage reference students with an Index score 15 or more than the assigned Index score

Exempting students with higher index numbers regardless of whether or not they meet
HEAR 2010 would accomplish the intent of reducing remediation, and thereby increasing
retention and graduation rates.

B. Specifications for Freshman Admission Window Sizes

The commission directed changes to the admission policy to include that each
institution’s window size and the 20% window be calculated and applied on a statewide
rather than an institutional basis. The proposed policy changes (Attachment A) adhere to
the intent of the recommendation discussed and approved at the July 2008 meeting.

This policy would allow for the reallocation of unused window slots as needed by
institutions whose entering students do not meet HEAR 2010. Applying the 20%
window statewide is a continuation of policy approved by the Commission for students
graduating from high school from spring 2008 to fall 2009. It should be noted that
flexibility in applying admissions window sizes occurred when admissions standards
were first put in place by the Commission as documented in the CCHE policy dated
October 3, 1986. During the implementation period for 1986 policy, institutions were
given two, four and six years to reach the 20% admissions window size.
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Table C indicates the extent to which each institution used its exemption window in its
most recent admissions decision. The table also shows the number of potential window
slots that could be reallocated based on institution window sizes of less than 20%.

Table C : 2006/2007 Admits by Index and Window

# Admitted | # Admitted Total 2007 Window Projected #
o in Window | above Index | Admitted Window % | Difference | | Reallocation
Institution
Adams State College 66 1,160 1,226 20% 0% 0
Colorado School of Mines 110 2,444 2,554 10% 10% 255
Colorado State University 985 8,660 9,645 14% 6% 579
Colorado State University - Pueblo 202 1,468 1,670 17% 3% 50
Fort Lewis College 155 2,138 2,293 20% 0% 0
Mesa State College 48 1,597 1,645 20% 0% 0
Metropolitan State College of Denver
64 3,684 3,748 20% 0% 0
University of Colorado - Boulder 1,671 14,420 16,091 14% 6% 965
University of Colorado - Colorado
Springs 173 2,410 2,583 17% 3% 77
University of Colorado at Denver and
Health Sciences Center 200 2,106 2,306 17% 3% 69
University of Northern Colorado 1,022 5,362 6,384 17% 3% 192
Western State College 152 1,298 1,450 20% 0% 0
[ 4,848] 46,747]  51,595] | ] ] 2,188|

Source: SURDS data, Fall & Summer 2005
* Numbers came from 2007 Spring UAF using full year tables.

C. School District Waivers for meeting Higher Education Admission
Requirements

The Commission directed staff to define how a school district could apply for a waiver
and how the staff will administer the waiver application process. The proposed policy
changes (Attachment A) adhere to the intent of the recommendation discussed and
approved at the July 2008 meeting.

Specifically, school districts seeking a waiver for students in their district shall by a vote
of the school board “attest that their school district does not have available resources to meet
HEAR 2010 requirements as established in current policy and requests a district waiver from
CCHE starting with the graduating class of 2010”.

The resolution and request for a waiver must be submitted to the Department of Higher
Education by January 15, 2009. The request will specify that the school district cannot
meet the requirements of the fourth year of mathematics, the one year of foreign
language, or both and provide an explanation as to why the requirements can not be met.



Colorado Commission on Higher Education (CCHE) Agenda Item I, D
September 11, 2008 Page 5 of 5
Action Item

School district waivers will be effective for three years, until the graduating class of
2013.

Staff will forward requests for school district waivers to the Commission for approval at

the February 2009 Commission meeting. The institutions of higher education will be
given a list of school districts approved for a waiver for HEAR 2010 by March 13, 2009.

IV. STAFF RECOMMENDATION

That the Commission approve revisions to policy Section I Academic Affairs: Part F
Admissions Standards.
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