Remedial Education Policy Review

Final Policy (Posted 12/18/2013)

Purpose

The Remedial Education Policy Review task force began in May 2012 to assess retention rates for Colorado institutions of higher education, review best-practices and various other states remedial policies, and make policy revision recommendations to the Colorado Commission on Higher Education that align with the Admissions and Transfer Policy, and new graduation guidelines. The CCHE approved a revised policy on Dec. 5, 2013.

Charge

The task force charge was to:

  • Consider effect of current policy and consider alternatives/improvements
  • Create a policy for supplemental academic instruction (completed)
  • Embed Colorado Academic Standards & national consortia assessments
  • Align admission and remedial education policies
  • Consider rigor of curriculum in high school
  • Consider differentiating placement procedures for math for students based upon declared program of study

Task Force Goals

  • Create a policy that is useful, less stringent, transparent and helpful for institutions to follow
  • Create a policy that addresses barriers to better aligning implementation

Process Goals

  • Allow and encourage multiple, informed perspectives that best serve students
  • Understand the global issues facing Colorado and students facing remediation

Participant List

Advisory Board and Task Force

Meeting Schedule

Friday, May 25, 2012
Minutes
Friday, June 22, 2012
Friday, July 27, 2012
Friday, August 24, 2012
Minutes
Friday, September 28, 2012
Friday, October 26, 2012
Friday, November 30, 2012
Tuesday, January 8, 2013
Friday, January 25, 2013
Handouts
Friday, February 22, 2013
Friday, March 22, 2013
Friday, July 26, 2013
Agenda
Handouts
Minutes
Friday, August 23, 2013
Agenda
Handouts
Minutes
Friday, September 27, 2013
Agenda
Handouts
Minutes
Friday, October 25, 2013
Agenda
Minutes